Okra Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This turned out really delicious! I used regular flour instead of chickpea flour... I'm sure it's better with chickpea flour but I still really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Sherwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
You can add chili powder to make it spicier, and more chickpea flour to make it crispier. To avoid the stickiness, just be careful with how much you stir the okra (pre-cooking it in the microwave helps with this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Elliott
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a great curry recipe. The flavors are mild yet aromatic. The okra comes out crispy and full of flavor. There is a slight (very slight) kick at the end that I'm sure could be dialed up (doesn't need to be dialed back) and tastes great. This is so much easier to cook than many Indian recipes I find in recipe books. Nice job and keep submitting more great Indian recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
A good side dish.It tastes better with chilli powder and dry mango powder.very often made in indian kitchens. chhaya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Delicious! A great balance of flavors, it is spicy but not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonmot
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Used cumin powder & wheat germ (instead of chickpea flour) - what I had on hand. Best part - super fast & healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
So yummy with rice. I subbed with ground cumin, and chili powder. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Wonderful with okra fresh from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The only reason i give it 4 stars vs. 5 stars is the lack of bacon. Unless, of course, you consider it as a side dish to a plate of bacon. Then it's definitely 5 stars. But seriously folks, having lived in North Carolina for 8 years before moving to Seattle, if I had only known of this recipe back then I could have found a lot more use for all my neighbors okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was excellent! I'm so excited to have an a new recipe for my garden-grown okra. Thanks for the tip about microwaving the okra. This dish came out perfectly, and the seasoning was great. (I substituted ground cumin for seed and wheat flour for chickpea flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was a really good way to use okra from the garden. I added some ghost pepper to kick up the spice and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States