Okra Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elliott
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a great curry recipe. The flavors are mild yet aromatic. The okra comes out crispy and full of flavor. There is a slight (very slight) kick at the end that I'm sure could be dialed up (doesn't need to be dialed back) and tastes great. This is so much easier to cook than many Indian recipes I find in recipe books. Nice job and keep submitting more great Indian recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Delicious curry! Subtle spice and flavoring- very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrcarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The only reason i give it 4 stars vs. 5 stars is the lack of bacon. Unless, of course, you consider it as a side dish to a plate of bacon. Then it's definitely 5 stars. But seriously folks, having lived in North Carolina for 8 years before moving to Seattle, if I had only known of this recipe back then I could have found a lot more use for all my neighbors okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Wow! This is really delicious - the curry flavor really is nice with okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I was lucky to have a small sample and will make this on my own soon! Previously my only recipes for okra were to add it to soup! I'm excited to have a new easy Okra recipe! The taste is slightly spicy and the Okra has a slight crunch- which is great for a side dish or with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger
Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Delicious! A great balance of flavors, it is spicy but not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonmot
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I'm not a fan of okra, but I tried this dish because of the curry and yum... got to love the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
A good side dish.It tastes better with chilli powder and dry mango powder.very often made in indian kitchens. chhaya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I was not impressed at all with this recipe. It was bland and sticky. I don't know what I expected, but I wasn't able to eat this. Texture is a big thing for me and I found it too slimy for my taste. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julius8122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
You can add chili powder to make it spicier, and more chickpea flour to make it crispier. To avoid the stickiness, just be careful with how much you stir the okra (pre-cooking it in the microwave helps with this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States