Okra Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
So yummy with rice. I subbed with ground cumin, and chili powder. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Wonderful with okra fresh from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
liked the spices but felt it was a little dry, added more oil than listed. the taste was good, i added onions to the mix as well, as this is what i've had in restaurants before. will make again, for sure. my hubby really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
You can add chili powder to make it spicier, and more chickpea flour to make it crispier. To avoid the stickiness, just be careful with how much you stir the okra (pre-cooking it in the microwave helps with this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I was not impressed at all with this recipe. It was bland and sticky. I don't know what I expected, but I wasn't able to eat this. Texture is a big thing for me and I found it too slimy for my taste. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julius8122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
A good side dish.It tastes better with chilli powder and dry mango powder.very often made in indian kitchens. chhaya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I'm not a fan of okra, but I tried this dish because of the curry and yum... got to love the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Delicious! A great balance of flavors, it is spicy but not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonmot
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I was lucky to have a small sample and will make this on my own soon! Previously my only recipes for okra were to add it to soup! I'm excited to have a new easy Okra recipe! The taste is slightly spicy and the Okra has a slight crunch- which is great for a side dish or with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger
Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Wow! This is really delicious - the curry flavor really is nice with okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The only reason i give it 4 stars vs. 5 stars is the lack of bacon. Unless, of course, you consider it as a side dish to a plate of bacon. Then it's definitely 5 stars. But seriously folks, having lived in North Carolina for 8 years before moving to Seattle, if I had only known of this recipe back then I could have found a lot more use for all my neighbors okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States