Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Great taste. used mixed veggies,instead of corn because that is what I had, and was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I never liked okra as a child (slimy suckers). I made this dish for my father. My father, husband and son loved it (I loved it. have not eaten okra for ten yrs).. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was a staple in my house growing up! I still make this today and my mom and I have tried some variations. We have never used file powder, always boullion cubes. Also, sometimes we add green beans to the mixture. We also like to eat this as a soup, using a broth base and adding either ground beef or sliced link sausage. It is so good!!! Leftovers are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I'm trying to eat healthier, so I've been looking for ways to prepare fresh okra other that frying. This is very tasty, quick & easy to make. My husband raved about it & is looking forward to the leftovers. I changed the amount of file powder to 1 tsp. instead of 1 Tb, because I wasn't sure how strong the flavor would be. And I shortened the first cooking time by 5 min. This will certainly become one of our favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I did not have file powder (& also don't know what it is) so I seasoned with garlic salt, cumin, salt, pepper and a little red cayenne pepper. It really was wonderful. I used fresh okra and fresh sweet corn scraped from the cob. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Reminds me of what my Mom made when I was a child. Still as good. Thanks. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
A keeper! I fried the onion and okra in a small amount of bacon fat and omitted the bacon. Also threw in a little garlic and green pepper. Used fresh okra and fresh tomatoes and canned corn. My husband likes spicy so I divided the recipe and added cayenne pepper to his half. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I used fresh okra in this recipe and no file powder, because I have no idea what that is, and it was very good and even better the next day. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Briggs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
My husband really liked this but I did change the recipe a little. Instead of bacon, I used 1 package of linguisa. I didn't bother with file powder since linguisa is spicy by itself. At the end, I threw in a few eggs and cooked it. It didn't look that appetizing but it was really tasty. I will definitely prepare this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I used more bacon (I know more fat), made it to go with some Smoked BBQ Chicken and it was a huge hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States