Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Another wow! I've never liked okra and had a dear neighbor hand us a bunch of fresh okra yesterday. I knew he'd ask us if we enjoyed his okra and wanted to be able to answer him honestly. I was happy to find this recipe with all the positive reviews. To a Dutch oven I added and crisped the diced bacon. Set aside to drain on paper towels reserving a tiny bit of the bacon fat. Sauteed the onion and okra. Added undrained tomatoes and leftover cooked ground turkey. Added a can of water. Simmered for about 20 minutes, added the file' powder, which was easy to find in the creole section of the spices. The file' powder really makes this recipe. I added leftover corn and salted and peppered as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersinfrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope Valley, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was great! I decided to buy some file powder on ebay and wait till I received it. It turned out great. I did have to add some extra water while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My family LOVED this!!!! My kids even ate it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Added roasted poblano pepper left from another recipe, frozen black eyed peas and proscuitto instead of bacon to this classic. My mom who grew up in N. Florida said it was better than what she remembered from her childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very good and easy. I used fresh okra and it was great.. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I always hated okra as a kid but my mother always boiled it (to death).With three kids, I'm always looking for new ways to fix vegetables to teach the kids that good nutrition doesn't have to mean boring. This was it. My daughters devoured it, and my picky, veggie HATING son simply ate it without a fuss-that RARELY happens. So this one is going in the file for keeps. Personally, I try not to eat meat but I can handle the small amount of bacon used for flavoring in this. I'm going to try the recipe using olive oil and play with the seasonings a bit though to see if I can't make it more vegetarian friendly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was really good. I did make some changes because I didn't have the file powder. So instead I substituted ground cummin and also used a little cilantro. I also used about 3 tblsp of olive oil to cook the okra and onions, then poured in a pouch of real bacon bits. I used fresh okra and cherry tomatoes from our garden with two nice spicey chopped jalepeno peppers. And just poured in a can of whole kernel corn (drained). The flavors were wonderful together and gave it just the right amount of "bite" that my family enjoys. We served it hot over cornbread. A definite hit for my family. Will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I used fresh okra and fresh corn (raw and cut off the cob) but pretty much followed the directions and it worked out great. Very tasty side dish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I got a recipe like this from a friend. I also put a little red pepper flakes in it and serve over basmati rice. Its a meal in itself for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Tyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I never liked okra as a child (slimy suckers). I made this dish for my father. My father, husband and son loved it (I loved it. have not eaten okra for ten yrs).. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States