Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe as written except I used creole seasoning instead of file powder because that's what I had on hand. It turned out stupendous! I really loved the flavor. It was my 1st time using okra. I was a little apprehensive because of the slime factor involved, but it wasn't a problem. I also didn't have bacon or onions so I used canola oil and onion powder. Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConJonMon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
We also did not have file powder, so we used Zatarain's Creole Seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It was a perfect to use up some okra and also another good use for file powder, which is not used in that many recipes and so hard to find in my town I had to get some in New Orleans. I can tell the file powder is really what made it special though, so try not to skip this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I loved this recipe! "Southern" vegetables are a new thing to me and I am enjoying experimenting and using the recipes from here to try things in new ways! I did this on the spur of the moment after purchasing fresh okra from the fruit/veggie stand down the road, so I altered it by using fresh okra and went with another reviewers suggestion of cutting down the corn! It is awesome and NOT goopy like some okra recipes I've made! A much better alternative to breading/frying healthwise! THUMBS up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boswell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sutherland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Another wow! I've never liked okra and had a dear neighbor hand us a bunch of fresh okra yesterday. I knew he'd ask us if we enjoyed his okra and wanted to be able to answer him honestly. I was happy to find this recipe with all the positive reviews. To a Dutch oven I added and crisped the diced bacon. Set aside to drain on paper towels reserving a tiny bit of the bacon fat. Sauteed the onion and okra. Added undrained tomatoes and leftover cooked ground turkey. Added a can of water. Simmered for about 20 minutes, added the file' powder, which was easy to find in the creole section of the spices. The file' powder really makes this recipe. I added leftover corn and salted and peppered as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersinfrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope Valley, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was great! I decided to buy some file powder on ebay and wait till I received it. It turned out great. I did have to add some extra water while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My family LOVED this!!!! My kids even ate it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Added roasted poblano pepper left from another recipe, frozen black eyed peas and proscuitto instead of bacon to this classic. My mom who grew up in N. Florida said it was better than what she remembered from her childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very good and easy. I used fresh okra and it was great.. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States