Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I did not have fila. I added green peppers, and garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I did without the file powder and found this to be uninteresting so I would definitely recommend someone trying this recipe to not skip that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I was looking for a good recipe for okra. This was quick, easy, and excellent in flavor. I served this with grilled chicken. The only changes I made was to use fresh okra and tomato. Everything else was the same. Awesome!!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
WOW...we didn't know what to do with okra and found this recipe. I used fresh okra and cajun powder. This was a wonderful dish and we are making it for a special family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I couldn't find my file, so maybe the 4 star isn't fair. I thought it was excellent however, and a great way to use okra without resorting to frying. Forgot the garlic, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilma Laura Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
The recipe was good and for a few of you readers that don't know what file is...It's a spice you use in gumbo's. You can find it in the seasoning section of the grocery store, or by the section in the store for gumbo making and crab and shrimp boils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Since I grew up in New Orleans, I reduced the amount of File Powder, and added minced garlic to the recipe.It was great. Most Cajun & Creoles added garlic to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Txgirl, this was the BEST okra I have ever tasted!!! Didn't change a thing. Used a cast-iron skillet for preparation. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this recipe as written except I used creole seasoning instead of file powder because that's what I had on hand. It turned out stupendous! I really loved the flavor. It was my 1st time using okra. I was a little apprehensive because of the slime factor involved, but it wasn't a problem. I also didn't have bacon or onions so I used canola oil and onion powder. Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConJonMon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
We also did not have file powder, so we used Zatarain's Creole Seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States