Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I was suprised that I didn't like this dish... Especially after reading the 5 star reviews... Maybe it was because I added the entire tablespoon of File powder?? It had a very strange flavor - that I'm afraid ruined an otherwise good dish!? In fact - no one in my family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I made this for vegetarian friends so omitted the bacon. Also, I used fresh okra, fresh corn cut off the cob, and fresh tomato. It was delicious. Everyone ate it up and I will make it again, maybe with the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIBE8FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I'm a vegetarian but love okra, corn and tomatoes. So... I used olive oil to cook the okra and onions (red). Browned them nicely. Added some fire-roasted canned tomatoes which helped to deglaze the pan. Simmered for 20 minutes. Added fresh corn from one cob, salt, file powder and pepper. I found it got a little dry so i added some water to continue the simmering. All in all.... DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
File Powder is aka Cajun Gumbo Seasoning. Add some red onion and bell pepper...beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Velma, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingston, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I used fresh corn and okra. I also added garlic with the onions and okra. I did not have file power, but I added a little cayenee pepper for a kick. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is a great side dish. I made a few adjustments of my own including substituting italian sausage for bacon, fresh okra, canned corn, minced garlic, olive oil, white wine, dash of cayenne and chili powder in addition to the pepper all ready listed in the recipe. The results were magnificent. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Great recipe... I noticed some on-line did not know what file powder is... file powder is used in Creole dishes... its a spice made from dried and ground sassafras leaves...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great recipe if you want to do something different with okra. I made it over and over again this past summer. Also, you don't have to use the bacon if you don't want the added fat, it turns our great using just a little olive oil to cook the okra first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is very good!! I was craving okra and was looking for other ways to cook it....excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I wasn't a fan of the file seasoning, but appreciate the ease of this dish. I also preferred it cold (straight out of the refrigerator the next day.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States