Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
File Powder is aka Cajun Gumbo Seasoning. Add some red onion and bell pepper...beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Velma, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingston, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I used fresh corn and okra. I also added garlic with the onions and okra. I did not have file power, but I added a little cayenee pepper for a kick. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This is a great side dish. I made a few adjustments of my own including substituting italian sausage for bacon, fresh okra, canned corn, minced garlic, olive oil, white wine, dash of cayenne and chili powder in addition to the pepper all ready listed in the recipe. The results were magnificent. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Great recipe... I noticed some on-line did not know what file powder is... file powder is used in Creole dishes... its a spice made from dried and ground sassafras leaves...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great recipe if you want to do something different with okra. I made it over and over again this past summer. Also, you don't have to use the bacon if you don't want the added fat, it turns our great using just a little olive oil to cook the okra first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is very good!! I was craving okra and was looking for other ways to cook it....excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I wasn't a fan of the file seasoning, but appreciate the ease of this dish. I also preferred it cold (straight out of the refrigerator the next day.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is awesome!! The family loved it. Alterations I made were: 10 slices of already cooked bacon, 3 tablespoons olive oil, 1/4 cup large yellow(sweet) onion diced in big pieces, 2 cloves garlic sliced, 1-15 oz frozen okra, 1/2 bag frozen corn, 1 can of petite diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil, Sea salt & cayenne pepper to taste. Cooked as per recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I think fresh corn and tomatoes would have made this dish better--why use canned/frozen when you can have fresh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cctaylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I was looking for a way to make okra from our garden other than frying it and this is delicious! I also used onions and tomatoes from the garden and fresh corn I cut off the cob. I happened to have file powder, so this was a winner! I'd say you really don't have to cook it as long as it calls for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States