Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Just for informational purposes, as I read many comments about "file powder" (not having it, and not knowing what it is). File (pronounced [FEE-lay]) powder is one of the key ingredients in making gumbo and has a distinctive "root beer" flavor. File powder is made from the dried ground leaves of the sassafras tree. They were believed to have been first used by the Choctaw Indians from Louisiana bayou region.Today the powder is used to both thicken and flavor gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namretupad
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
mmm-mmm-mmm good.Thats all that needs to be said! Delish ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidia Tijerina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Made this with fresh tomatoes, fresh okra, fresh corn taken off the cob,. Did not use file; substituted with fresh dill. (Can use perhaps comino powder, or a little sage) Also added lemon juice in substitute for vinegar, to help cut down the slime. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
In spite of diet restrictions for fat, I made this because I wanted something different. I'm gladly giving this five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this recipe as written and it was very tasty and so easy. Did not think the bacon added much, and next time will cut back on the corn a little. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The is a great recipe. Did not have any file'. so I used a little Tony C. Also, baked cornbread with some baked chicken...really a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Don't keep file powder on hand, but I did use a few shakes of Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning to jazz it up. I also add a couple of tablespoons of sugar because I love for my okra, corn, and 'maters to be sweet. I make this dish at least 3-4 times during sweet corn season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I love this dish, it has been a favorite for my family for years. We call it succatash and I've also heard it called potpourri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Yum, we both loved it. Omitted the bacon and fried with 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tsp liquid smoke instead. Used a large fresh tomato. Seasoned with cumin, salt, black pepper, and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I was suprised that I didn't like this dish... Especially after reading the 5 star reviews... Maybe it was because I added the entire tablespoon of File powder?? It had a very strange flavor - that I'm afraid ruined an otherwise good dish!? In fact - no one in my family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States