Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
mmm-mmm-mmm good.Thats all that needs to be said! Delish ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidia Tijerina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Made this with fresh tomatoes, fresh okra, fresh corn taken off the cob,. Did not use file; substituted with fresh dill. (Can use perhaps comino powder, or a little sage) Also added lemon juice in substitute for vinegar, to help cut down the slime. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
In spite of diet restrictions for fat, I made this because I wanted something different. I'm gladly giving this five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this recipe as written and it was very tasty and so easy. Did not think the bacon added much, and next time will cut back on the corn a little. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The is a great recipe. Did not have any file'. so I used a little Tony C. Also, baked cornbread with some baked chicken...really a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Don't keep file powder on hand, but I did use a few shakes of Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning to jazz it up. I also add a couple of tablespoons of sugar because I love for my okra, corn, and 'maters to be sweet. I make this dish at least 3-4 times during sweet corn season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I love this dish, it has been a favorite for my family for years. We call it succatash and I've also heard it called potpourri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Yum, we both loved it. Omitted the bacon and fried with 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tsp liquid smoke instead. Used a large fresh tomato. Seasoned with cumin, salt, black pepper, and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I was suprised that I didn't like this dish... Especially after reading the 5 star reviews... Maybe it was because I added the entire tablespoon of File powder?? It had a very strange flavor - that I'm afraid ruined an otherwise good dish!? In fact - no one in my family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I made this for vegetarian friends so omitted the bacon. Also, I used fresh okra, fresh corn cut off the cob, and fresh tomato. It was delicious. Everyone ate it up and I will make it again, maybe with the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIBE8FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States