Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I didn't have file powder and I really don't know what it is or where to buy it. However, the food still turned out good by replacing it with 2 bouillion cubes of beef or chicken. Yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
A keeper! I fried the onion and okra in a small amount of bacon fat and omitted the bacon. Also threw in a little garlic and green pepper. Used fresh okra and fresh tomatoes and canned corn. My husband likes spicy so I divided the recipe and added cayenne pepper to his half. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I did not have file powder (& also don't know what it is) so I seasoned with garlic salt, cumin, salt, pepper and a little red cayenne pepper. It really was wonderful. I used fresh okra and fresh sweet corn scraped from the cob. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I never liked okra as a child (slimy suckers). I made this dish for my father. My father, husband and son loved it (I loved it. have not eaten okra for ten yrs).. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I was looking for a way to make okra from our garden other than frying it and this is delicious! I also used onions and tomatoes from the garden and fresh corn I cut off the cob. I happened to have file powder, so this was a winner! I'd say you really don't have to cook it as long as it calls for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is awesome!! The family loved it. Alterations I made were: 10 slices of already cooked bacon, 3 tablespoons olive oil, 1/4 cup large yellow(sweet) onion diced in big pieces, 2 cloves garlic sliced, 1-15 oz frozen okra, 1/2 bag frozen corn, 1 can of petite diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil, Sea salt & cayenne pepper to taste. Cooked as per recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Just for informational purposes, as I read many comments about "file powder" (not having it, and not knowing what it is). File (pronounced [FEE-lay]) powder is one of the key ingredients in making gumbo and has a distinctive "root beer" flavor. File powder is made from the dried ground leaves of the sassafras tree. They were believed to have been first used by the Choctaw Indians from Louisiana bayou region.Today the powder is used to both thicken and flavor gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namretupad
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I'm trying to eat healthier, so I've been looking for ways to prepare fresh okra other that frying. This is very tasty, quick & easy to make. My husband raved about it & is looking forward to the leftovers. I changed the amount of file powder to 1 tsp. instead of 1 Tb, because I wasn't sure how strong the flavor would be. And I shortened the first cooking time by 5 min. This will certainly become one of our favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Reminds me of what my Mom made when I was a child. Still as good. Thanks. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was really good. I did make some changes because I didn't have the file powder. So instead I substituted ground cummin and also used a little cilantro. I also used about 3 tblsp of olive oil to cook the okra and onions, then poured in a pouch of real bacon bits. I used fresh okra and cherry tomatoes from our garden with two nice spicey chopped jalepeno peppers. And just poured in a can of whole kernel corn (drained). The flavors were wonderful together and gave it just the right amount of "bite" that my family enjoys. We served it hot over cornbread. A definite hit for my family. Will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States