Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I didn't have file powder and I really don't know what it is or where to buy it. However, the food still turned out good by replacing it with 2 bouillion cubes of beef or chicken. Yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I'm trying to eat healthier, so I've been looking for ways to prepare fresh okra other that frying. This is very tasty, quick & easy to make. My husband raved about it & is looking forward to the leftovers. I changed the amount of file powder to 1 tsp. instead of 1 Tb, because I wasn't sure how strong the flavor would be. And I shortened the first cooking time by 5 min. This will certainly become one of our favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I did not have file powder (& also don't know what it is) so I seasoned with garlic salt, cumin, salt, pepper and a little red cayenne pepper. It really was wonderful. I used fresh okra and fresh sweet corn scraped from the cob. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I have never used file powder before and chose to make this recipe without. Since it's august, the 3 main veggies are in season so I used fresh. It was very good but was missing just a little something. I'm now going to keep my eye out for file powder (I'm in CA) and give this another try if I ever find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was very very good I wanted to try okra so I planted it in my garden knowing nothing about what to do with it. This was very good and the corn made it great The only thing I would add is hot peppers and or a little brown sugar. I also added salt, pepper, cuman, and garlic salt. Because of these addtions I gave it 4 stars but with the additions I would give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Great taste. used mixed veggies,instead of corn because that is what I had, and was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Good, however, not so sure that I liked the bacon in it. Next time, I think I will use smoked sausage. The combination of veggies turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Reminds me of what my Mom made when I was a child. Still as good. Thanks. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I couldn't find file powder anywhere, so I had to omit that. I'm not sure if I cared for the bacon, I think next time I'll leave it out. Otherwise, not a bad side dish, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
A keeper! I fried the onion and okra in a small amount of bacon fat and omitted the bacon. Also threw in a little garlic and green pepper. Used fresh okra and fresh tomatoes and canned corn. My husband likes spicy so I divided the recipe and added cayenne pepper to his half. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States