Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a decent dish. It was the first time I'd cooked okra, and the first time I'd used filé powder. I made the recipe exactly as written (I didn't find the okra and corn in the package sizes given, so I measured them out from 16 and 32 oz. packages respectively.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
my mother would brown grown beef with a little seasoning and eat over rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I used more bacon (I know more fat), made it to go with some Smoked BBQ Chicken and it was a huge hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
My husband really liked this but I did change the recipe a little. Instead of bacon, I used 1 package of linguisa. I didn't bother with file powder since linguisa is spicy by itself. At the end, I threw in a few eggs and cooked it. It didn't look that appetizing but it was really tasty. I will definitely prepare this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I used fresh okra in this recipe and no file powder, because I have no idea what that is, and it was very good and even better the next day. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Briggs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
A keeper! I fried the onion and okra in a small amount of bacon fat and omitted the bacon. Also threw in a little garlic and green pepper. Used fresh okra and fresh tomatoes and canned corn. My husband likes spicy so I divided the recipe and added cayenne pepper to his half. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I couldn't find file powder anywhere, so I had to omit that. I'm not sure if I cared for the bacon, I think next time I'll leave it out. Otherwise, not a bad side dish, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Reminds me of what my Mom made when I was a child. Still as good. Thanks. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Good, however, not so sure that I liked the bacon in it. Next time, I think I will use smoked sausage. The combination of veggies turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Great taste. used mixed veggies,instead of corn because that is what I had, and was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States