Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My family LOVED this!!!! My kids even ate it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Added roasted poblano pepper left from another recipe, frozen black eyed peas and proscuitto instead of bacon to this classic. My mom who grew up in N. Florida said it was better than what she remembered from her childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very good and easy. I used fresh okra and it was great.. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I always hated okra as a kid but my mother always boiled it (to death).With three kids, I'm always looking for new ways to fix vegetables to teach the kids that good nutrition doesn't have to mean boring. This was it. My daughters devoured it, and my picky, veggie HATING son simply ate it without a fuss-that RARELY happens. So this one is going in the file for keeps. Personally, I try not to eat meat but I can handle the small amount of bacon used for flavoring in this. I'm going to try the recipe using olive oil and play with the seasonings a bit though to see if I can't make it more vegetarian friendly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was really good. I did make some changes because I didn't have the file powder. So instead I substituted ground cummin and also used a little cilantro. I also used about 3 tblsp of olive oil to cook the okra and onions, then poured in a pouch of real bacon bits. I used fresh okra and cherry tomatoes from our garden with two nice spicey chopped jalepeno peppers. And just poured in a can of whole kernel corn (drained). The flavors were wonderful together and gave it just the right amount of "bite" that my family enjoys. We served it hot over cornbread. A definite hit for my family. Will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I used fresh okra and fresh corn (raw and cut off the cob) but pretty much followed the directions and it worked out great. Very tasty side dish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I got a recipe like this from a friend. I also put a little red pepper flakes in it and serve over basmati rice. Its a meal in itself for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Tyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I never liked okra as a child (slimy suckers). I made this dish for my father. My father, husband and son loved it (I loved it. have not eaten okra for ten yrs).. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was a staple in my house growing up! I still make this today and my mom and I have tried some variations. We have never used file powder, always boullion cubes. Also, sometimes we add green beans to the mixture. We also like to eat this as a soup, using a broth base and adding either ground beef or sliced link sausage. It is so good!!! Leftovers are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I'd give it a low four because I think the corn took away from the flavor of the okra (my nephew, who enjoys a lot of the vegetable recipes I get off this site, agreed). I used Trader Joe's frozen sweet corn. Plus I only used a 16 oz bg and it was still way too much corn. I'd use less or no corn next time. Otherwise the flavor was good. I'm surprised people have a problem finding file powder. It is gumbo file and should be available with the creole seasonings in most big supermarkets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States