Okra, Corn and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I think fresh corn and tomatoes would have made this dish better--why use canned/frozen when you can have fresh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cctaylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I was looking for a way to make okra from our garden other than frying it and this is delicious! I also used onions and tomatoes from the garden and fresh corn I cut off the cob. I happened to have file powder, so this was a winner! I'd say you really don't have to cook it as long as it calls for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Made this for the second time last night and it was as good as I remembered. Okra is "new" for me - after experiencing the slimy sort when I was a kid - and I'm so happy to be able to introduce my kids to okra with a great recipe like this! Completely non-slimy!! Added a couple cloves of garlic with the onion, used about a tbsp of olive oil to saute the onion and garlic, and didn't have any file powder, so used some Cajun seasoning. Also used a combination of fresh and canned tomatoes, and fresh okra from the farmer's market. So glad I tried this - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I didn't use the file powder either, but substituted garlic salt, onion flakes,and black pepper instead. I also substituted a 1 1/2 cups of fresh orange cherry tomatoes instead of the canned and fresh okra from the garden instead of frozen. It was awesome and my kids liked it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Elissa Bergman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I did not have fila. I added green peppers, and garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I did without the file powder and found this to be uninteresting so I would definitely recommend someone trying this recipe to not skip that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I was looking for a good recipe for okra. This was quick, easy, and excellent in flavor. I served this with grilled chicken. The only changes I made was to use fresh okra and tomato. Everything else was the same. Awesome!!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
WOW...we didn't know what to do with okra and found this recipe. I used fresh okra and cajun powder. This was a wonderful dish and we are making it for a special family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I couldn't find my file, so maybe the 4 star isn't fair. I thought it was excellent however, and a great way to use okra without resorting to frying. Forgot the garlic, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
The recipe was good and for a few of you readers that don't know what file is...It's a spice you use in gumbo's. You can find it in the seasoning section of the grocery store, or by the section in the store for gumbo making and crab and shrimp boils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States