Okra, Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Giving this 5 stars because it was a nice change, tasted great, and soooo easy! I had chicken breasts already cooked in the crockpot, so shredded them on top and baked covered in foil for about 35 mins until instant rice was cooked. We served ours with apple sauce and low fat cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
I increased the cook time to 52 minutes - the rice was fully cooked and had absorbed all of the moisture. This is an excellent low-fat meal that I will be sure to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This recipe was very yummy. My 8 year old loved the rice and didn't even realize it had okra in it. It came out creamy, and the flavor was wonderful. The only canges I made were:I used fresh okra, chicken thighs and added salt to it. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
How many ways can I say WOW?!?! I absolutely loved this recipe, and, trust me, I will definitely be sure to make it again and again! Thank you so much for brightening up my day with this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I didn't have cream of mushroom soup or brown rice so I used 1 can of coconut milk and 1 cup of basmati rice. I added fresh okra and tomatoes from my garden and added salt, cracked pepper and several spices. I baked at 400 for 45 minutes and it came out perfect. This recipe was quick, easy, very flavorful, and my family loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was reeeally good! i only had white rice but it worked out just fine. I'm pretty sure i added my own seasonings to my liking and i know i added some of paula deens house seasoning to the chicken. I've always been a big fan of okra since i was little but i can see how if you have never had it before you would think it's weird and slimy lol. I like it though! 5 stars lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Calloway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I tweeked this recipe until almost completely different dish! I needed basic recipe for what I had in mind, so this wiorked out great. I used box of Zatarans Jambalaya mix with can of rotel tomatoes, one cup of water. added the okra and nestled the chicken in it. There is no need to add spices, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My husband and I LOVED this recipe. Not only is it delish but it took me 5 mintues to prepare, only dirtied a measuring cup and a casserole dish, and took one hour to bake. I even used frozen chicken breashets! Towards the end of baking I did cut up the breasts to get more flavor. I also used 1.25 cups water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Love Okra, and LOVE how this recipe has REAL veggies and brown rice. Some of the other recipes have a full days worth of sodium and less than a gram of fiber (2 cans of soup Plus a packet of onion soup mix... plus.... salty crackers or cereal And butter? I feel good serving this and variations with other veggies to my family often. Yes, do up the cook time at least 5 minutes since brown rice cooks so long. And This is great with avariety of veggies- frozen spinach etc. If you want more flavor just add dried or suateed onions, garlic of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alison Batt
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I had to make a few changes but it worked out yummy. It took 1hr15mins to cook although I had increased the amounts! I used drumsticks so they stayed moist but the one piece of breast I put in did not. I added carrots and substituted spinach for okra. Oh and a can of mushrooms and half cup of sour cream. Family loved it even the boy that doesn't like rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Batt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States