Okra, Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Pretty good. It was a nice change in vegetable. Mine did come out a tad slimey, but I think that's just the nature of okra. I added some salt and I think next time I make it I will add seasoned salt and chopped green chiles to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was really tasty. I also cooked it for 52 minutes and it turned out great. The only addition I would make is to cube the chicken and mix it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My chicken turned out really dry, even though I put the rice in first for about 7 minutes, then added the chicken. There wasn't much flavor to it, especially the chicken. The okra is really gooey and when mixed with the rice, makes a strange texture. It was a good idea, though. With some changes, it could be really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
It was a little bland. Also a little slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Easy dinner to make. I like Okra so however many ways I can eat I am impressed with. I think the Okra can be easily replaced with different vegetables if wanted. I only gave it a 4, because it is simple in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
How many ways can I say WOW?!?! I absolutely loved this recipe, and, trust me, I will definitely be sure to make it again and again! Thank you so much for brightening up my day with this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This recipe was very yummy. My 8 year old loved the rice and didn't even realize it had okra in it. It came out creamy, and the flavor was wonderful. The only canges I made were:I used fresh okra, chicken thighs and added salt to it. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
As it is, I am not sure how this recipe cooks all the way through in the time allowed. I made chicken and rice my way (one can french onion soup, one can cream of mushroom soup, one can water and one cup rice) and added fresh okra to the mix. Then put the chicken pieces on top and bake UNCOVERED for 1 hour at 350 degrees or until chicken juices run clear. Like this, it was very good. The okra doesn't add a ton of flavor but it does add an extra helping of vegetables to an already good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
A good general weeknight dinner, nothing marvelous, but tasty enough to have again. I like the change of veggie with the okra. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I'm sorry, but this came out horrid. We had never tried okra before, and so I looked for a recipe to use it in and tried this one. Maybe I did something wrong, but it came out slimy. The chicken came out bland. I may try this again with another vegetable and more seasonings on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States