Okra, Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SPARKLE33
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was actually quite good! I love okra, so I was thrilled to find something EASY to use it in. Substitutions I made: I melted 2T of butter in the pan as the oven preheated, and then I baked 6 chicken legs for 30 minutes at 400 before turning the heat down to 350. I transfered the chicken to a plate and let it rest while I mixed the rice ingredients. I used basmati rice instead of brown, and a soup can of milk instead of water. I also used cream of chicken soup. Finally, I added a can of french style green beans. I baked this dish for 50 minutes tightly covered with foil and it when my whole house smelled great I knew it was done. Wow! So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, but, decided to add a little Cajun flair to it. I added 1 10 oz. can of Rotel Diced Tomatoes with green chiles, and used 7/8 cup Swanson Box Chicken Broth instead of water. I cut back on the water because of the water in the Rotel. I also sauteed 1/2 onion, 1/2 bell pepper, parsley, and green onions in 2 tblspns. butter and added this to the mixture. Even though I added chicken broth, I still ended up adding about 1/4 tsp. of salt. I used red pepper instead of black pepper. Be careful, the Rotel is already peppered. This added a great flair to an already excellent recipe. I did extend the cooking time to 1 hr. 15 mins. to get the rice to cook properly. Hope you enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
After reading other people's reviews I used some suggestions. I used a quick instant brown rice which came out perfect when cooked at 350 for 50 mins. I added ginger to the mixture, as I prefer the spice and it's good for you. Also used 1/2 c. of sour cream which made it a bit creamer, and added additional salt, pepper and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I thought this was good, I followed the advice of baking with the rice mixture for 20 minutes and adding the chicken and continue baking for an additional 45 minutes. That was perfect. I personally like more flavor, I tried chili flakes which was better, my husband added Old Bay and I really liked that, I would make it again as it is easy and add the Old Bay during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We love this recipe - although because my family has to eat Gluten Free due to Celiac disease we don't use prepared soup. I sub one 14 1/2 oz can of diced tomatoes for the can of condensed mushroom soup - and I use a 16 oz bag of frozen sliced okra instead of slicing it myself - otherwise everything else is the same. We love the tomatoes with the okra too. I think they add a bit more liquid which aids the brown rice in it's cooking....oh I also put the chicken in the pan first and cover it with everything else so it doesn't dry out while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
So easy, nice and quick!!! We will do again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
this recipe needs more tweaking. i read the reviews and added the packet of dry onion soup mix so the flavor was really great but just like so many people wrote...the chicken was overdone and the rice was not done. i even used wild rice, hoping it didn't need as long as brown rice. :( i even removed the already overcooked chicken and put the rice back in but there just wasn't enough moisture to get it soft. nice flavor but i won't do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaffney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was reeeally good! i only had white rice but it worked out just fine. I'm pretty sure i added my own seasonings to my liking and i know i added some of paula deens house seasoning to the chicken. I've always been a big fan of okra since i was little but i can see how if you have never had it before you would think it's weird and slimy lol. I like it though! 5 stars lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Calloway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very tasty. I don't have a lot of experience cooking with okra, but had a bit of it fresh. It was delicious in the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I didn't have cream of mushroom soup or brown rice so I used 1 can of coconut milk and 1 cup of basmati rice. I added fresh okra and tomatoes from my garden and added salt, cracked pepper and several spices. I baked at 400 for 45 minutes and it came out perfect. This recipe was quick, easy, very flavorful, and my family loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States