Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I love this recipe! 14.5 oz of tomatoes didn't seem like very much once I had the veggies chopped; luckily I had another can so I added that. I also only used 1/2 the amount of okra and it was more than enough. I recommend Del Monte brand stewed tomatoes, Cajun Recipe. It adds a nice hint of spice :) As other reviews suggested, I served this with white rice for a bigger meal. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is very good. Plain, it's just so-so, but over rice, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
my husband like okra only if it's fried. that when i made this, he thinks it would be slimy. but i made him try it and he love it now. love it! i used fresh tomatoes all the time but if i don't, i always drained the tomatoes in can to avoid it from getting slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
i made this for me and my fiance, and by looking at the picture he said he would try it, but it looked not so good lol. and i made it and guess what? i got 1 bowl and he stole the rest! it was tasty AND healthy, i will keep this in with my favorite recipes thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This is good but it needs more tomatoes and more flavor. I used some worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I fixed this dish this evening with a few modifications and everyone but the babies cleaned his plate. I used fresh okra, doubled the tomato, added some leftover polish sausage and a bit of crushed pepper. We served it over flavored white rice and ate every last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
It's a good way to eat okra, we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Very easy, quick, and tasty! :) I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out to be a great recipe for okra. I don't like celery so I omitted the celery and used 1 bell pepper instead. Also, I added some garlic powder, paprika, and a small amount of cayenne pepper. I used canola oil for sauteeing instead of bacon grease (I omitted the bacon altogether to make it more healthy). The result was very yummy! And we didn't have a problem with the "slime" normally associated with okra -- maybe sauteeing the okra took care of this. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Super!!! A+++ If I could give it more stars, I would. I didn't realize okra could taste this good w/out being deep fried. I added green chilies because we like food a little more spicy. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very good! I used olive oil instead of bacon and spiced it up with Creole Seasoning. My family likes it spicy! It was wonderful! I would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States