Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I've made this a couple of times now. The first time I followed the recipe and it turned out great. The second time, I found I didn't have any canned tomatos, but I had a few roma's , so I diced those up and added a little tomato sauce. It still turned out perfect. Every one at my house loves it either way. I sometimes add a little Creole seasoning for a little extra kick. This is one of those recipes that's just real hard to goof up. Thanks for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I made this without the bacon and it was really simple to prepare. I used fresh chopped tomatoes and red pepper flakes. It kind of reminded me of ratatouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Great recipe. I used Zataran's Creole spice to give it some zing. I also omitted the celery since we didn't have any. I liked as well as my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
i made this for me and my fiance, and by looking at the picture he said he would try it, but it looked not so good lol. and i made it and guess what? i got 1 bowl and he stole the rest! it was tasty AND healthy, i will keep this in with my favorite recipes thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Delicious, healthy, and filling! I made a few modifications: used a full green pepper; omitted the celery; for the can of tomatoes I used "Hunt's Diced Tomatoes with Green Pepper, Celery and Onion". I mixed up my own Cajun-type seasoning: 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour, 1 tsp season-all, 3/4 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp pepper, and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. I stirred this into the mixture in place of the "salt and pepper to taste". This was wonderfully hearty and I will make it again. Thanks, Gwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Very easy, quick, and tasty! :) I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out to be a great recipe for okra. I don't like celery so I omitted the celery and used 1 bell pepper instead. Also, I added some garlic powder, paprika, and a small amount of cayenne pepper. I used canola oil for sauteeing instead of bacon grease (I omitted the bacon altogether to make it more healthy). The result was very yummy! And we didn't have a problem with the "slime" normally associated with okra -- maybe sauteeing the okra took care of this. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I thought this was very good - I had to add several seasonings to make it just right, or I would have given it 5 stars. I added fresh parsely, garlic, pepper, seasoned salt and a pinch of chili powder. However, I will definitely be making this again. I served it over brown rice with a fried egg, and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Super!!! A+++ If I could give it more stars, I would. I didn't realize okra could taste this good w/out being deep fried. I added green chilies because we like food a little more spicy. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I hate Okra, that has always been the way with me. Hate it! Then I started a garden and someone gave me some orgaic Okra seeds. I planted them - I don't know why but I did and they came up beautifully. Well this receipe changed my mind on Okra. My husband and I loved it. I cut them fresh from the garden and did the receipe pretty much just as it is written , except for adding some creole spice and jalepenos for heat. It was fantastic, I can't wait to make it again. I am so happy for two reasons, one this great receipe and two - I didn't waste space in my garden planting this Okra, now what to do with the eggplants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I love this recipe! 14.5 oz of tomatoes didn't seem like very much once I had the veggies chopped; luckily I had another can so I added that. I also only used 1/2 the amount of okra and it was more than enough. I recommend Del Monte brand stewed tomatoes, Cajun Recipe. It adds a nice hint of spice :) As other reviews suggested, I served this with white rice for a bigger meal. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States