Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I've made this a couple of times now. The first time I followed the recipe and it turned out great. The second time, I found I didn't have any canned tomatos, but I had a few roma's , so I diced those up and added a little tomato sauce. It still turned out perfect. Every one at my house loves it either way. I sometimes add a little Creole seasoning for a little extra kick. This is one of those recipes that's just real hard to goof up. Thanks for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I made this without the bacon and it was really simple to prepare. I used fresh chopped tomatoes and red pepper flakes. It kind of reminded me of ratatouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Great recipe. I used Zataran's Creole spice to give it some zing. I also omitted the celery since we didn't have any. I liked as well as my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
i made this for me and my fiance, and by looking at the picture he said he would try it, but it looked not so good lol. and i made it and guess what? i got 1 bowl and he stole the rest! it was tasty AND healthy, i will keep this in with my favorite recipes thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Delicious, healthy, and filling! I made a few modifications: used a full green pepper; omitted the celery; for the can of tomatoes I used "Hunt's Diced Tomatoes with Green Pepper, Celery and Onion". I mixed up my own Cajun-type seasoning: 1 Tbsp all-purpose flour, 1 tsp season-all, 3/4 tsp garlic salt, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp pepper, and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. I stirred this into the mixture in place of the "salt and pepper to taste". This was wonderfully hearty and I will make it again. Thanks, Gwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Very easy, quick, and tasty! :) I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out to be a great recipe for okra. I don't like celery so I omitted the celery and used 1 bell pepper instead. Also, I added some garlic powder, paprika, and a small amount of cayenne pepper. I used canola oil for sauteeing instead of bacon grease (I omitted the bacon altogether to make it more healthy). The result was very yummy! And we didn't have a problem with the "slime" normally associated with okra -- maybe sauteeing the okra took care of this. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I thought this was very good - I had to add several seasonings to make it just right, or I would have given it 5 stars. I added fresh parsely, garlic, pepper, seasoned salt and a pinch of chili powder. However, I will definitely be making this again. I served it over brown rice with a fried egg, and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Super!!! A+++ If I could give it more stars, I would. I didn't realize okra could taste this good w/out being deep fried. I added green chilies because we like food a little more spicy. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I hate Okra, that has always been the way with me. Hate it! Then I started a garden and someone gave me some orgaic Okra seeds. I planted them - I don't know why but I did and they came up beautifully. Well this receipe changed my mind on Okra. My husband and I loved it. I cut them fresh from the garden and did the receipe pretty much just as it is written , except for adding some creole spice and jalepenos for heat. It was fantastic, I can't wait to make it again. I am so happy for two reasons, one this great receipe and two - I didn't waste space in my garden planting this Okra, now what to do with the eggplants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I love this recipe! 14.5 oz of tomatoes didn't seem like very much once I had the veggies chopped; luckily I had another can so I added that. I also only used 1/2 the amount of okra and it was more than enough. I recommend Del Monte brand stewed tomatoes, Cajun Recipe. It adds a nice hint of spice :) As other reviews suggested, I served this with white rice for a bigger meal. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States