Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Great recipe. I used Zataran's Creole spice to give it some zing. I also omitted the celery since we didn't have any. I liked as well as my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
My husband and I both really liked this recipe, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I've made this a couple of times now. The first time I followed the recipe and it turned out great. The second time, I found I didn't have any canned tomatos, but I had a few roma's , so I diced those up and added a little tomato sauce. It still turned out perfect. Every one at my house loves it either way. I sometimes add a little Creole seasoning for a little extra kick. This is one of those recipes that's just real hard to goof up. Thanks for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Simple, easy, delicious. Used fresh tomatoes with a little chicken stock instead of can tomatoes. Served over bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This came out so unbelievably good! We used fresh tomatoes and fresh okra and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Very good. Got rave reviews when served with Ann's Shrimp Etoufee: "I've had okra prepared a few ways and this is the best I've had."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I made this to use up some fresh okra. Because I was literally making one serving, I didn't want to open an entire can of tomatoes so I just used some V8 veggie juice and some Pace chunky salsa. I didn't have the green pepper so I used a finely chopped jalepeno instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I made this without the bacon and it was really simple to prepare. I used fresh chopped tomatoes and red pepper flakes. It kind of reminded me of ratatouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
it was very easy to make and delicious. instead of the okra type mentioned above, i used canned okra in tomato sauce, and the recipe was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I thought this was very good - I had to add several seasonings to make it just right, or I would have given it 5 stars. I added fresh parsely, garlic, pepper, seasoned salt and a pinch of chili powder. However, I will definitely be making this again. I served it over brown rice with a fried egg, and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States