Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I used Canola oil instead of bacon. Sauted green pepper,onion and minced garlic. I then added frozen okra. Sprinkled with cajun seasoning. Then added Hunts petite diced tomatoes, but used 2 cans. Simmered until I liked. So good! Thank you for the sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have never had okra other than in gumbo before buying a bunch at a farmer's market at the prompting of my 4 year old. Used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, added 4 cloves of garlic, and some "emeril essence" spice. It was good - would make it again, but definitely needed both the garlic and the extra spice of the essence (hence 4 stars versus 5). Even my adventurous 4 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I used fresh okra, sliced, and fresh tomatoes (4 medium). I added about 4 cloves of garlic and a touch of cayenne, and omitted the bacon because I'm vegetarian. It was fabulous! It does cook down quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I hate Okra, that has always been the way with me. Hate it! Then I started a garden and someone gave me some orgaic Okra seeds. I planted them - I don't know why but I did and they came up beautifully. Well this receipe changed my mind on Okra. My husband and I loved it. I cut them fresh from the garden and did the receipe pretty much just as it is written , except for adding some creole spice and jalepenos for heat. It was fantastic, I can't wait to make it again. I am so happy for two reasons, one this great receipe and two - I didn't waste space in my garden planting this Okra, now what to do with the eggplants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I gave this four stars because I had to add Cajun seasoning to spice it up...it was too bland (for my taste) without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I am a born and raised southerner and this is without a doubt the BEST Okra and Tomatoes I have ever tasted. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Did not have celery, used fresh okra and tomatoes, add 1/4 cup of lemon juice and sprinkles a little cormeal to soak up the little bit of slim there was. Very Very good! Going to try with frozen okra and frozen tomatoes next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I will make this again and again!! WHat a great way to use upo summer veggies!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Yummy and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I had the odd situation of having fresh okra in my backyard as a biology project but never having eaten it before. I was a little wary of the classic frying recipes, so I tried this one. At first I was worried that it would turn out bland as many of the reviews mentioned adding extra spices, of which I had none. But the end product was truly delicious with just salt and pepper - as said before, you really can't screw this up! My only suggestion is maybe to add celery first or cut it up extremely small, as my okra and bell peppers were thoroughly cooked when my celery still had a fair amount of rawness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States