Okra and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Only change was to skip the stewed tomatoes for two chopped roma and a good handful of sliced grape tomatoes; and I threw in the Creole seasoning as suggested by many. I saute the onions first on their own and when they've softened I added everything else. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ohiogirlie74
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I hate okra. I hate it less after this recipe, which is really saying something. We used fresh tomatoes from the garden (8 roma and 3 yellow heirloom) instead of canned, because we had a ton of them - and for seasoning I used a Mrs Dash spicy pepper blend. I felt like it needed a lot of salt, which must come naturally if using canned tomatoes. There was still that stringy snotty slime essence, but, this is a REALLY great way to eat okra without deep frying it. Served with a side of Andouille sausage, over rice - next time, I'll cut the sausage up and cook it in the stew. Yes, I said next time! I'm surprised, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohiogirlie74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Made this recipe tonight with a fresh batch of okra from the garden. This was my first time attempting to cook okra so when it got kinda slimmy I was worried but it tastes GREAT and after you add the tomatoes, the slimmy stuff disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJBHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Excellent! Great flavor. I used fresh okra and cooked them whole for about 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hartline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Not bad, but pretty bland as given so it needed additional spices. I added minced garlic and cayenne and it made it a lot better. It's a nice base for a lot of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I make something very similiar but it calls for a cup of corn and instead of the can stewed tomatoes I use a can of Ro*tel,its my hubbys favorite dish so I always try to keep the ingrenients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
really good way to cook okra, as opposed to deep frying it lol. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
this is a good recipe but it is more enhanced with a good quality sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ardra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This dish is a great way to get your veggies without adding tons of fat or calories to your diet. I recently discovered that I like okra (I never ate it as a child), and this is definitely a dish I will make frequently because it is delicious, healthy and SO EASY to make. This is one of the yummiest "healthy" dishes that I've made, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States