Okra and Tomatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Excellent! I take exception to the few lower marks given to this recipe by people who used FROZEN okra. I used one anehiem (sp?) chili pepper and 4 large tomatoes from the garden because it was what I had on hand. I also used an extra slice of bacon because, well, its bacon. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This made the house smell absolutely wonderful! I added a little bit of ham and used fresh banana peppers and tomatoes from my garden instead of roma tomatoes and chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Recipe turned out exactly like it said. And the vinegar was a really nice trick! I made it,and it was really delicious and extremely healthy! Will make again. My fiance loved this dish. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Sooo good, really. I used this recipe in Phase 1 of my South Beach Diet. I used red chiles instead and it tasted so great. I also substituted turkey bacon for the real bacon. I like the taste of okra and the extra veggies and seasoning made it perfect. Please try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
was great. my husband says i can never leave a recipe alone! the only adjustments i made were... i fried 6 pieces of bacon. crumbled it but added it to bowl AFTER dish was cooked cooked some minute rice poured recipe over cooked rice added bacon had french bread and was our whole meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
As far as okra goes this was really good. The only other way I know how to make it is fried so this was a good new way to make it. I let it simmer on high for last ten minutes with the cover off to cook off the liquid because it seemed a little watery. Over all it was good and there was nothing left so that is a good sign. All of the veggies were fresh from my mom's garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good. I did not add the bacon, instead I cooked the onion and chili peppers in olive oil. Just delicious, thanks Cyndilynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made a vegetarian version of this, which may have been the downfall of the recipe. While it wasn't bad, I don't think it's something I'd make again. It was pretty bland and mushy. Additionally, I'm not sure how the vinegar was supposed to help the slime. The outside of my okra was fine, it was the inside that was slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was great. My husband and 16-yr old son loved it. Thaye have asked for it almost every week since I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great veggie recipe! I also added 1/2 bell pepper and 2 stalks celery. Served over rice, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States