Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Good, but you definitely need the special flour so it won't taste bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by shafersgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I was taught how to make this by a Japanese friend...DELICIOUS! We used shredded cabbage, green onion, flour(all purpose is fine), egg, and a little water, then pressed shrimp and bacon into the top of it while cooking, instead of mixing it in. We topped it with Japanese mayo, and another sauce that I cannot remember the name of! These are so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafersgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I used ham and bacon instead of chicken and red bell instead of green (not a big fan of green). Edit..I lightly brushed each pancake with sesame oil instead of the pan, used nonstick. I had one left so it was lunch today, cut to fit a toasted thin bun brushed with katsu sauce and added slice of cz. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I added Okonomi sauce (can also be used in making yaki udon and yaki soba)and udon noodles in this dish. Its so yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I used this as a reference for a veggie saute. Used zucchini, green bean and onion sauteed with the same flavors in this recipe: garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, chicken stock. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aznsouris
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Disappointing. They looked nicer than they tasted. After one pancake, I got sick of it and didn't want more. I missed some of the reviews where it was stated that this recipe wasn't authentic. Had I known, I wouldn't have wasted my time on this. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aznsouris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I love making okonomiyaki! I use dashi instead of chicken broth, and chopped shrimp sometimes instead of chicken. I usually leave out the carrots and bell peppers, just as a personal preference. I think the "flavor" some people may be missing in this is MSG- it's usually added to alot of Asian flour mixes. We eat this with miso-flavored mayo and furikake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Easy to make and tasted great with some mayo, seaweed, tonkatsu sauce and flaked dried bonito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
It was pretty good but not my cup of tea. Easy to make but kind of messy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Hi,I wanted to share mine.I am a Japanese and,I thought that I could help others to make more authentic one. my mom used to use corn kennel,shredded cabbage,shredded carrots,Chikuwa(you can find at Asian store but this is optional),ham, and bit cooked meat ;beef or pork (not ground,not chicken).Other people suggested to buy Okonomiyaki Flour but you do not need it.You can use just All Purpose flour. To make batter,put all vegies and meat and pour flour and add water and make batter and consistency is about not too watery not too thick like pancake batter..I usually eyeball it but you can start from 3table spoon of flour and 2 table spoon water etc.. but you need batter to the amount it can cover veggie and meat.Then,I use vegitable oil and just like you make pancake,you cook it flipping after one side done.Then, splash worcestersauce and cook some seconds and off to your plate.Mix ketchup and worcestersauce;ratio I think 4:6(I eyeball it,but to your taste is fine) and brush this over okonomiyaki and eat.Some people back home in japan drizzle mayo after you take okonomiyaki out to plate and drizzle worcester sauce and sprinkle crushed seaweed on it.You do not need okonomiyaki sauce or tonkatsu sauce.It still tastes good.Until you figure out water and flour ration to make batter is kind of practice but you will learn as you cook. I am sorry I could not provide measurement of batter but next time I make, I try to see how much I am pouring water and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Making California Rolls

Learn how to make delicious California sushi rolls at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States