Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Such a nice light meal. Fun dish to make with whatever ingredients you have on hand. The tonkatsu sauce was perfect on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I loved this recipe because it was full of healthy veggies. I thought it needed some salt so I may add more soy sauce or add about half a teaspoon next time. It was great with Tonkatsu sauce, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I made this for my family last night and everyone loved it. I am not a great cook, but it was very easy. My kids asked for seconds and my husband actually said he could eat this for dinner every night. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I love making okonomiyaki! I use dashi instead of chicken broth, and chopped shrimp sometimes instead of chicken. I usually leave out the carrots and bell peppers, just as a personal preference. I think the "flavor" some people may be missing in this is MSG- it's usually added to alot of Asian flour mixes. We eat this with miso-flavored mayo and furikake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I love this, and I usually put strips of bacon on the pan and pur the batter over that so the bacon gets crispy. My favorite sauce is mayo (Japanese kind are the best!) and tonkatsu sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Easy to make and tasted great with some mayo, seaweed, tonkatsu sauce and flaked dried bonito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shafersgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I was taught how to make this by a Japanese friend...DELICIOUS! We used shredded cabbage, green onion, flour(all purpose is fine), egg, and a little water, then pressed shrimp and bacon into the top of it while cooking, instead of mixing it in. We topped it with Japanese mayo, and another sauce that I cannot remember the name of! These are so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafersgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this with plain white flour, and used chopped cabbage, chopped zucchini, bell pepper, and seafood sticks. It was very easy to do and came out really flavorful and my husband liked it too. We would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I had to make a lot of substitutions because of the veg I did/didn't have. So the flavor of this exact recipe I can't really comment on. Our version used chicken, napa, carrots, a regular onion, garlic scapes, and grated radish. The egg mix was as written. We pre-cooked the stronger flavored items to make sure they'd 'cook down', and my griddle was about 350 degrees for cooking. I would say this method is five stars, because we're going to be able to take the method and use it for anything, which is a complete godsend, since we are members of two CSAs--one for veg, one for meat. So we get tons of eggs and have no particular choice about what veg we get each week. This method will work for about anything, we think, and adding different spices will allow us to change this dish around completely--even to different 'ethnicities' if we want to. We made our own sauces--one mayo-based with wasabi and teriyaki, and the other a thai peanut sauce. Both sauces did well with this recipe. With our substitutions I would say this pancake is sort of a 'base' for the sauce you choose. With stronger flavored veg and the traditional okonomiyaki flour maybe sauces would be more optional. I deeply appreciate this method, it will work fantastically with even the weirdest veg we get from the CSA. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was a great and easy recipe for last minute and to clean out the fridge. I used leftover turkey and the veggies that I had on hand (in addition to the cabbage and carrot), which included celery. Took yassy's suggestion and swirled a little worcestershire sauce around the pan after the flip and topped each one with the catsup/worcestershire sauce mix. Made a great meal with some Asian slaw salad. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States