Okonomiyaki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I was looking for a way to use up random vegetables, namely nappa cabbage, and stumbled upon this recipe. It served my purposes greatly, though I have no idea how authentic the end result was. I just used regular flour. They turned out pretty good, but in the end, I think I'm just no much of a nappa cabbage fan! If I make it again, I'll leave that ingredient out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This recipe is really good, but what I did instead is added pork slices instead of the bacon and added spaghetti, jalapenos, and mushrooms to my okonomiyaki. It tastes to die for ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was a great and easy recipe for last minute and to clean out the fridge. I used leftover turkey and the veggies that I had on hand (in addition to the cabbage and carrot), which included celery. Took yassy's suggestion and swirled a little worcestershire sauce around the pan after the flip and topped each one with the catsup/worcestershire sauce mix. Made a great meal with some Asian slaw salad. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I thought they were very good. I think seasoning the chicken before cooking adds alot of flavor the the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Sometimes it doesn't matter that it is not 100% authentic. This recipe was very tasty and all of my family enjoyed them. You can change the vegetables to what you have on hand and use a sauce or mayonnaise that you enjoy. This is great for lunch and kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
According to my exchange student from Japan, this is not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I had to make a lot of substitutions because of the veg I did/didn't have. So the flavor of this exact recipe I can't really comment on. Our version used chicken, napa, carrots, a regular onion, garlic scapes, and grated radish. The egg mix was as written. We pre-cooked the stronger flavored items to make sure they'd 'cook down', and my griddle was about 350 degrees for cooking. I would say this method is five stars, because we're going to be able to take the method and use it for anything, which is a complete godsend, since we are members of two CSAs--one for veg, one for meat. So we get tons of eggs and have no particular choice about what veg we get each week. This method will work for about anything, we think, and adding different spices will allow us to change this dish around completely--even to different 'ethnicities' if we want to. We made our own sauces--one mayo-based with wasabi and teriyaki, and the other a thai peanut sauce. Both sauces did well with this recipe. With our substitutions I would say this pancake is sort of a 'base' for the sauce you choose. With stronger flavored veg and the traditional okonomiyaki flour maybe sauces would be more optional. I deeply appreciate this method, it will work fantastically with even the weirdest veg we get from the CSA. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this with plain white flour, and used chopped cabbage, chopped zucchini, bell pepper, and seafood sticks. It was very easy to do and came out really flavorful and my husband liked it too. We would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Good, but you definitely need the special flour so it won't taste bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by shafersgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I was taught how to make this by a Japanese friend...DELICIOUS! We used shredded cabbage, green onion, flour(all purpose is fine), egg, and a little water, then pressed shrimp and bacon into the top of it while cooking, instead of mixing it in. We topped it with Japanese mayo, and another sauce that I cannot remember the name of! These are so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafersgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Making California Rolls

Learn how to make delicious California sushi rolls at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States