Oklahoma Nut Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
When I put the melted sugar into the cream and sugar mixture, the melted sugar became one big lump. Perhaps the other mixture wasn't warm enough. However, I kept at it stirring until it all smoothed out which took some time. Good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
My grandma made this candy every Christmas. Unfortunatly I never got the recipe from her so my children missed this treat while growing up. My grandchildren will be introduced to it this year with stories about my grandma and growing up in Oklahoma. I'm so happy to find this recipe, thank you!! Now I've just got to resist the temptation to gobble it all up before Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
This is a great candy recipe. My mom got this same recipe out of a newspaper in Massachuesetts. It was called Oklahoma Brown Candy. It has become a family tradition at Christmas. It is my son's, now 20 y.o., favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
We're having a family get together tonight and I'm really excited for them to try this. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
this is great candy .... in Oklahoma we call it Aunt Bill's ..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I thought it was relatively easy to make. WE loved it. My husband said it reminded him of soft, fudgy peanut brittle. I think it tasted like a cross between caramels and fudge. I will make it again! CB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I grew up in Oklahoma making this with my sisters and our grandfather every holiday. The only negative thing is you can't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I'll give the recipe 5 stars but I think that the instructions need some clarification. I have a good heavy medium 1 1/2 qt sauce pan that I used to melt the sugar in. I used a 3qt pan for the sugar/heavy cream mixture. I considered a 3qt pan a "large" sauce pan. Not so. When making this, keep in mind that when you add the baking soda, the mixture is going to "bubble up". It's going to bubble up A LOT!!! This bubbled up and OVER the top of my pan and all over the top of my new stove and ran down into the burners. I spent the 20 minute cooling period cleaning up the mess. Once I got it all under control, the candy was good. I would use a pan closer to a dutch oven sized pan next time. Yes, I will make it again, but I'll be a little wiser about it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This is traditionally called Aunt Bill's Brown Candy in Oklahoma. Is super delicious, but hard to make and can go "bad" quickly if not beaten continuously. Worth a couple of tries to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This candy is good & fairly easy to make. The biggest problem I had was getting the candy out of the pan - I probably didn't use enough butter. Also, like another reviewer said, use a big pot - I had to move the mixture into a larger pot during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States