Oklahoma Nut Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
We loved the flavor of this candy, but I think maybe this recipe isn't quite as clear as it could be. Stovetop candy recipes are so much about feel and experience that they can be hard to write down! This only partially set up for us, and the texture was a little grainy. I think we needed to let the sugar melt more (it does take a long, long time, so be prepared), and I also think we should have made sure the cream was at least at a simmer before we added the caramel (which promptly congealed into a big gooey lump instead of combining). I would also advise waiting for 30 minutes before you start beating; ours was still pretty liquid at 20. There's another recipe on this site called Aunt Bill's Brown Candy that I think I'll use next time - same basic ingredients, but more specific directions about some of the procedures involved. Thanks anyway though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I also couldn't get the sugar to melt by itself for a very long time. Finally gave up and tried adding it to the other mixture just to not entirely waste all the ingredients. It didn't work. Was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This candy is good & fairly easy to make. The biggest problem I had was getting the candy out of the pan - I probably didn't use enough butter. Also, like another reviewer said, use a big pot - I had to move the mixture into a larger pot during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
My grandma made this candy every Christmas. Unfortunatly I never got the recipe from her so my children missed this treat while growing up. My grandchildren will be introduced to it this year with stories about my grandma and growing up in Oklahoma. I'm so happy to find this recipe, thank you!! Now I've just got to resist the temptation to gobble it all up before Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Its hard for me to rate this recipe, since I couldn't get past the first step. The two cups of sugar, in a heavy bottom saucepan (non-stick), on low heat never melted - after an hour, it got hot and turned into brown 'chips', but never melted and it remained on low heat the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I'll give the recipe 5 stars but I think that the instructions need some clarification. I have a good heavy medium 1 1/2 qt sauce pan that I used to melt the sugar in. I used a 3qt pan for the sugar/heavy cream mixture. I considered a 3qt pan a "large" sauce pan. Not so. When making this, keep in mind that when you add the baking soda, the mixture is going to "bubble up". It's going to bubble up A LOT!!! This bubbled up and OVER the top of my pan and all over the top of my new stove and ran down into the burners. I spent the 20 minute cooling period cleaning up the mess. Once I got it all under control, the candy was good. I would use a pan closer to a dutch oven sized pan next time. Yes, I will make it again, but I'll be a little wiser about it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
When I put the melted sugar into the cream and sugar mixture, the melted sugar became one big lump. Perhaps the other mixture wasn't warm enough. However, I kept at it stirring until it all smoothed out which took some time. Good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I grew up in Oklahoma making this with my sisters and our grandfather every holiday. The only negative thing is you can't stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I thought it was relatively easy to make. WE loved it. My husband said it reminded him of soft, fudgy peanut brittle. I think it tasted like a cross between caramels and fudge. I will make it again! CB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
this is great candy .... in Oklahoma we call it Aunt Bill's ..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States