Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I've made these several times now with a few changes: I use cheddar/Jack cheeses instead of processed, and I double the hot sauce (Tapatio) and omit the seasoning salt; I also leave out the eggs, as they just don't seem necessary. What I want to point out is that this can really be a one-dish meal. It's not necessary to cook everything atop the stove and then transfer to a baking dish for the oven. I simply throw all the ingredients together in a baking dish, then toss it in the oven. After about half an hour, I stir well, then let it go for another half hour or so. The grits are cooked to perfection, and I just made a very easy, quick meal! My family loves it, so on occasion, I throw it together for dinner. The ease of it all makes me happy, and they're happy 'cause they like it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Great recipe! This is one where you can cut back on the sodium and calories without really missing them. In keeping with the way I grew up eating grits (as a foil for richer foods) I omitted the seasoned salt and used half the cheese (sharp cheddar instead of processed to keep the flavor) and reduced the butter to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This recipe is our family's favorite cheese grits recipe. Fluffy and wonderful! Only use 1/2 tsp of salt though. Last year we (30 of us) did a side by side comparison at Easter with the original recipe and a reduced fat version. I used this recipe and made it with half the amount of butter and light processed cheese and everyone liked the lower fat version better than the original. Just an option. It is also wonderful made with grated sharp cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese. Great recipe Mollie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
YEEEHAWWWWWWWW! A while back, my husband spent some time in the south (helping clean up after Hurricane Katrina). While he was there he called me and told me that he, and the rest of the crew, had gone to Lulu's Diner (don't quote me on the name of the diner because the memory is not great here) in Baton Rouge Louisiana and he had had "THE BEST GRITS" he's ever had in his "ENTIRE LIFE". As you've probably guessed, my huband is "a grits man". Anyway, to make a long story short I felt it was my duty to "one up" Lulu's. So, I printed out this recipe and made it for my husband upon his return home. BAM! These are now "THE BEST GRITS MY HUSBAND HAS EVER HAD IN HIS ENTIRE LIFE". Try them! They are FAB. Bake them if you must but we just eat them right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I cooked this recipe for a bridesmaids' brunch. We were preparing for over 20 people so I doubled the recipe. Per previous reviews I reduced the amount of butter-in fact I used "I Can't Believe It's Butter" to reduce fat content. I used less process cheese per other reviews and used Light Velveeta. I did not add hot sauce because my friend does not like spicy. I omitted the additional salt per other reviews. I cooked the grits in a pot on the stove and then mixed in all additional ingredients. I tempered the eggs (mixed some of hot grits into beaten eggs) before adding to the entire mix so as not to have scrambled eggs! Per another reviewer I baked in the removable crock pottery for a little less than an hour til top was golden. Then transported in crock pot to destination and kept on warm setting. It was a hit! So if you need to take this dish to another location using a crock pot is the perfect solution. Lots of compliments. Thanks for the recipe and all the wonderful review suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made these using some of the hints from previous reveiwers. I used 1/2 stick butter instead of 3/4 and 1 tsp. less of salt. My husband really liked them but all I could taste was the Worcestershire sauce. He wants me to make them with some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Made this recipe this morning for a brunch at work. It was easy to put together and it was baking while I got ready for work. Everyone who had some loved them. The stoneware part of my crock pot comes out, so to make sure they would be hot for the brunch, I cooked them in the stoneware part of my crockpot in the oven, then put the stoneware in the warming part, took the whole thing to work, plugged it in and put on keep warm setting. This is a VERY RICH recipe. Don't even want to add up the fat grams, but was very good. I'll definitely make this again. Next time, I'll use light Velveta and a low fat margarine. Thank you Mollie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Very good! Since it was just me and my husband, I scaled this for 6--used a 7 x 10 inch baking dish and it was just right. I also only cooked it about 40 minutes and it was lightly browned and creamy. I will be making this often,especially in the colder months! Thanks, Mollie, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
My husband thinks these are the best grits ever. I've made them 3 times now, once for a church dinner where they were devoured. Serve it as a side dish as a delicious alternate for potatoes. This recipe is a winner and one I will make again & again. Thanks Mollie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Made this as an "experiment" along with other usual brunch fare. Turned out to be the hit of the meal, everyone loved it! Its fun when that happens and you discover a new favorite to add to your collection. None of my guests had ever tied grits or even thought they ever would. This is delicious,really flavorful, the texture is appealing and it looks good. Also, it does not take an hour to make like the recipe says. Its very simple, maybe 25 minutes. It does have a lot of calories but for special occasions, so what!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States