Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have to admit that I never have rated anything on here and that is going to change because of this recipe! My husband begs for these now (after making fun of me for cooking grits in the oven). A true southern boy now loves grits made by his Yankee wife :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My mom made these for me for my birthday and it was my first time having cheese grits. They were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer11203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
The taste was good, but I had a huge problem with the amount of water to grits ratio. I followed the recipe and even after baking the grits were soup consistency. I had some instant packages of grits that I added to firm them up (I had to add 4 individual packages) Then I had to compensate by adding some more of the spices to balance it out. The end result still tasted great, but I definatly will use less water next time (or) different type of grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
These were so good. I added the garlic powder per another review and a few green onions. The entire family LOVED them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
YUM YUM YUM! This was fantastic! I cut the cheese and butter in half and it turned out great!! We ate it topped with sauted shrimp, green and red peppers, onions and bacon crumbles!! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Neptune Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
WOW! My husband didn't know what to think of the flavor, he said they were good though. The rest of the family LOVED it! It is a taste like I have never had. I couldn't bring myself to put that much butter, I only used 3/4 stick. That's all I changed though. Great recipe....baked grits...what a concept here in SC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hampton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
EXCELLENT recipe and will definitely be making again. I gave this 4 stars only because I made a few changes, not that they are necessary. I used cheddar instead of American as that is our preference. Also left out the eggs and did not bake them. Served them right from the pan and they were fabulous. My husband is from GA and loves cheese grits. I have spent the last 20 years seaching for the perfect recipe and finally, by George I think I have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this for a potluck dinner and got rave reviews from everyone. This is definetely a keeper, I will always use this as my baked cheese grits recipe! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
A modified version of this recipe is one of our family's must-have dishes for any holiday meal. We use 1/2 cup butter, 1 tsp. of seasoning salt (omitting the remaining salt) and 1 clove of minced garlic. I've also had good results making a "lighter" version by using 2% Velveeta, Smart Balance instead of butter, and 4 beaten egg whites instead of the whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerstin
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
WOW!! I made this for Christmas morning and it was a hit! This is seriously the best grits I've made! The Worcestershire and Velvetta really make this dish! I 1/2 the recipe and it called for 1 1/2 eggs, I used 1 egg and milk to make it a little more creamy so I didn't have to waste an egg or worry that it would be too eggy. Otherwise I followed the recipe with the exception of the hot sauce (I didn't have any). I used Tony C's for the seasoned salt to give it a kick to make up for the lack of hot sauce! No one in my house found it too salty. I have always been partial to another grit recipe but now this will be my go to recipe! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States