Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These were excellent and very well recieved. I reduced the butter to 1/4 and they were still very rich and buttery. Very easy to make, but also very unhealthy, so I would make this dish just every now and again. It was perfect for our Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
You gotta add some garlic!! Love this recipe! Such a treat- the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Really very good! I too am something of a purist when it comes to grits, so I didn't use seasoned salt, but garlic powder instead. I wish I hadn't added the Worcestershire. Next time I'll go without. I also didn't need the entire block of Velveeta; it was plenty cheesy with about 3/4 of it. The consistency was nice and creamy; the taste was great. I was able to mix it the night before, and pop it in the oven on Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is DELICIOUS!!! Such a huge hit when I make it! Even the people who hate grits come back for another helping of these!! YUM! *UPDATE* I added cooked sausage to it at Christmas and YUUUMMMMMMMMMMY! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I had never made Cheese Grits before, I made this for a group of 50 people for a brunch and got rave reviews. I made too much so we reheat them and ate them with dinner also. Picky teenagers even loved them. This recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My husband loves grits and these are his favorite. The last time I made them, I didn't add any eggs and just served them hot off the stove - without baking. I also always add garlic and extra hot sauce or use spicy cheese whiz. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Great recipe! This is one where you can cut back on the sodium and calories without really missing them. In keeping with the way I grew up eating grits (as a foil for richer foods) I omitted the seasoned salt and used half the cheese (sharp cheddar instead of processed to keep the flavor) and reduced the butter to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Very good recipe. Almost becomes a creamy cheese soufflé if you whip the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I am just 'discovering' grits and had them recently while on vacation. I came home and wanted to try this recipe. These grits came out wonderful. I scaled the recipe down to serve 6, only added 1 tsp of seasoning salt and left the regular salt out. I also added 1/2 tsp garlic powder and used 1/2 pound of american cheese slices as that is all I had on hand. They were so good. Thanks for this recipe. It will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Sun City Center, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
My husband thinks these are the best grits ever. I've made them 3 times now, once for a church dinner where they were devoured. Serve it as a side dish as a delicious alternate for potatoes. This recipe is a winner and one I will make again & again. Thanks Mollie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States