Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Never having grits before I thought I'd try this at Easter. The outcome was everyone liked them, but I thought they would be better served right from the pot without baking. More like polenta. I threw the leftovers out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This recipe is our family's favorite cheese grits recipe. Fluffy and wonderful! Only use 1/2 tsp of salt though. Last year we (30 of us) did a side by side comparison at Easter with the original recipe and a reduced fat version. I used this recipe and made it with half the amount of butter and light processed cheese and everyone liked the lower fat version better than the original. Just an option. It is also wonderful made with grated sharp cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese. Great recipe Mollie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I had never made grits before, but have always loved them. This recipe was so easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was waaaay better than I expected it to be. I was just looking for something easy with a minimum of ingredients, but it turned out great. I halved the recipe, so I used a 7x11 dish and it only needed about 50 minutes to bake. I only had polenta (corn grits), so I cooked that according to directions, which took about 30 minutes. I used a mix of sharp cheddar and monteray jack. I did only seasoning salt-- no additional salt. We ate half of it one night, and then the next night, I warmed the rest up with a drained can of black beans mixed in. I will definitely make this again. It's a little time intensive, but it's easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I love grits but I wasn't crazy about the velveeta. Very salty even without the added two tsp. of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These were excellent and very well recieved. I reduced the butter to 1/4 and they were still very rich and buttery. Very easy to make, but also very unhealthy, so I would make this dish just every now and again. It was perfect for our Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
You gotta add some garlic!! Love this recipe! Such a treat- the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Really very good! I too am something of a purist when it comes to grits, so I didn't use seasoned salt, but garlic powder instead. I wish I hadn't added the Worcestershire. Next time I'll go without. I also didn't need the entire block of Velveeta; it was plenty cheesy with about 3/4 of it. The consistency was nice and creamy; the taste was great. I was able to mix it the night before, and pop it in the oven on Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is DELICIOUS!!! Such a huge hit when I make it! Even the people who hate grits come back for another helping of these!! YUM! *UPDATE* I added cooked sausage to it at Christmas and YUUUMMMMMMMMMMY! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I had never made Cheese Grits before, I made this for a group of 50 people for a brunch and got rave reviews. I made too much so we reheat them and ate them with dinner also. Picky teenagers even loved them. This recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States