Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was looking for a good side dish for christmas dinner for the family. Went out and bought the the exact ingredients and went to town. Took this to the dinner table and everybody took a spoonfull. Not one person liked it, the response from everybody was "Its Ok". So I decided to try it and didnt like it either. Ended up throwing away the whole dish. It is ok, but definately not something to bragg about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
These are great! I was a little skeptical before I baked them, because it just tasted like Velveeta with a little grits mixed in. The eggs and baking really help to blend all the flavors. They were a hit at the baby shower I attended yesterday and my husband has already finished off the leftovers. One change I made- the recipe calls for a lot of salt, so I cut both the seasoning salt and the plain salt in half. It was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Great casserole! Made it for a brunch and everyone wanted the recipe! A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Everyone I made this for has loved it! It is now part of my Christmas eve brunch every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I'm a Southern Girl and grew up eating grits. I was really excited to experiment with a new method of preparing them. Well, I was disappointed in the results of this recipe. It's not that they were "bad", they were just too "different", than what I'm used to. They were too fluffy and too light. It's my own personal preference. I prefer grits that "stick to your ribs". I will continue to prepare grits the good old fashioned way: grits, butter, cheese and milk---cooked in a pot on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was amazing. I will probably do as the other reviewers stated and add some garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
this is also very good with 1-3 minced cloves of garlic, or you could use a lot of roasted garlic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Mmm... these really satisfied a cheesy craving. Plus, I had everything on hand w/o going to the store- double plus! I scaled this down to just two servings (since I was just making it for me) and it came out perfectly when baked in a small pyrex. I also subbed garlic salt and used reduced fat velveeta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I thought this recipe was good, not as fluffy as another recipe I've had before. I enjoyed it, but it got okay reviews from others. I'd tinker with the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Never having grits before I thought I'd try this at Easter. The outcome was everyone liked them, but I thought they would be better served right from the pot without baking. More like polenta. I threw the leftovers out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States