Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I love baked grits (especially with seafood), but I did make a few changes to this, based on how I remember my Mamaw making them. I used milk instead of water, bringing it right under a boil. Also, I used Cobly and Pepper Jack for the cheeses instead of processed. With thosee changes this is just like Mamaw used to make (possibly better-I don't remember her using worsteshire)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
It is very possible that I did something wrong, however, I followed this recipe to the best of my ability and followed other reviews by adding garlic and cutting salt in half and it turned out really bad. It was super salty and runny. Not even my husband or teenage boys would eat it. I will continue my quest for that perfect grit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Duvall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were awesome! I followed the recipe, and my husband and I loved them. I tasted the grits too before adding the eggs to bake, and they tasted great then too. Next time I'm in a hurry, I may just serve the grits without the eggs to avoid baking-- either way, they taste fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I made this for my Pajama Bunco. The theme was breakfast for dinner and it was absolutely a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Amazing! I served these New Year's Day with a breakfast casserole and monkey bread. It makes a ton, but most had more than one serving. I used the Kraft brand of processed cheese, since it temds to be a bit less salty. Not sure if it was necessary, but these were absolutely DIVINE! I hate leftovers and just had the last bite 4 days later. The might stick to the ribs a bit, but I will add to a traditions list for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Made these for a New Year's Brunch, everyone was scared to eat them because of all the unhealthy stuff in them, but they all ended up trying them and raving about how good these grits really are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was looking for a good side dish for christmas dinner for the family. Went out and bought the the exact ingredients and went to town. Took this to the dinner table and everybody took a spoonfull. Not one person liked it, the response from everybody was "Its Ok". So I decided to try it and didnt like it either. Ended up throwing away the whole dish. It is ok, but definately not something to bragg about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
These are great! I was a little skeptical before I baked them, because it just tasted like Velveeta with a little grits mixed in. The eggs and baking really help to blend all the flavors. They were a hit at the baby shower I attended yesterday and my husband has already finished off the leftovers. One change I made- the recipe calls for a lot of salt, so I cut both the seasoning salt and the plain salt in half. It was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Great casserole! Made it for a brunch and everyone wanted the recipe! A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Everyone I made this for has loved it! It is now part of my Christmas eve brunch every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States