Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
Hey... this was a great recipe for grits! The prep time is actually only about 20 minutes, not 1 hour as listed in the recipe (it's usually the other way around!). The grits were light and delicious... Next time I am going to reduce the amount of butter used to 1/4 cup to reduce calories and keep the grits from having too much of a buttery flavor. This recipe makes for a great base for Shrimp and Grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Very good! Since it was just me and my husband, I scaled this for 6--used a 7 x 10 inch baking dish and it was just right. I also only cooked it about 40 minutes and it was lightly browned and creamy. I will be making this often,especially in the colder months! Thanks, Mollie, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
BIG hit at our house! This recipe makes alot and would be great at a brunch or church function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Made this as an "experiment" along with other usual brunch fare. Turned out to be the hit of the meal, everyone loved it! Its fun when that happens and you discover a new favorite to add to your collection. None of my guests had ever tied grits or even thought they ever would. This is delicious,really flavorful, the texture is appealing and it looks good. Also, it does not take an hour to make like the recipe says. Its very simple, maybe 25 minutes. It does have a lot of calories but for special occasions, so what!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I made this for a family get together brunch and it went over well. Even my boyfriend who claims doesn't like grits enjoyed this! I would make it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I've been making garlic cheese grits for years. The Worcestershire and hot sauce are great additions. My family loved this new enhanced version. Oops, I made an error when I clicked on the rating stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
The grits were great! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Made this recipe this morning for a brunch at work. It was easy to put together and it was baking while I got ready for work. Everyone who had some loved them. The stoneware part of my crock pot comes out, so to make sure they would be hot for the brunch, I cooked them in the stoneware part of my crockpot in the oven, then put the stoneware in the warming part, took the whole thing to work, plugged it in and put on keep warm setting. This is a VERY RICH recipe. Don't even want to add up the fat grams, but was very good. I'll definitely make this again. Next time, I'll use light Velveta and a low fat margarine. Thank you Mollie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Thank you all for the wonderful reviews !! :o) The prep time IS shorter than the recipe states.....I would rather it be "long" on time, as to "short". Also, this grits recipe can be frozen, but should be baked first. They won't be as fluffy, but yummy none the less! Thanks for the great reviews !! Mollie :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
After 42 years of being a "grit eater" these are the absolute best I have ever had! Just had my third bowl for the day and the longer they sit the better they are. Even my wife (the grit hater)has eaten two bowls. Thanks Mollie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States