Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Excellent! I added 1/2 c. diced ham & 1/2 diced onion which I sauteed first. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I make this every year at Xmas -- a tradition in this Northern home ! I usually use the Microwave directions for the grits .. and use a large 8 cup pyrex dish. You can mix it all together in the pyrex dish before transferring to baking dish. I always use bagged shredded sharp cheddar instead of processed. And I use garlic salt not seasoned salt. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Just plain good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM IN MISSOURI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Hot sauce takes the cheese away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe! I only made 1/2 the amount, and omitted the seasoning salt, but I served it to friends from the South and they loved it - apparently, they never had baked grits before. I was even asked when I was going to be making it again! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdstop2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I also reduced the amount of butter and it didn't seem to need any more. Like a previous review said, I used it as a base for shrimp over grits (or sausage over grits, or chicken over grits). Everyone in my family loves it, including my 16 month old! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My family has made this recipe many times and it always turns out fabulous. I have even served it to friends who don't like grits or have never eaten them before, and they all loved it. I always use extra sharp cheddar cheese, and add a bit more tobasco sauce than is called for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I just made this today & it was delicious!! I used sharp cheddar instead of processed cheese, cut the salt in half and didn't use the seasoned salt. It was a big hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
No one in my family could even eat this and we all love grits. The best cheese grits ever--The Flying Biscuit in Atlanta. Look for their recipe if you want good cheese grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
REALLY GOOD RECIPE. WHILE I REALLY DON'T THINK THAT OKLAHOMA'S THE SOUTH IN ANY WAY, SHAPE OR FORM, (I LIVED THERE FOR A FEW YEARS & GRITS ARENT' AVAILABLE THE WAY THEY ARE IN THE SOUTH) THIS IS A REALLY GOOD RECIPE. GOOD CHEESY FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States