Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I also reduced the amount of butter and it didn't seem to need any more. Like a previous review said, I used it as a base for shrimp over grits (or sausage over grits, or chicken over grits). Everyone in my family loves it, including my 16 month old! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My family has made this recipe many times and it always turns out fabulous. I have even served it to friends who don't like grits or have never eaten them before, and they all loved it. I always use extra sharp cheddar cheese, and add a bit more tobasco sauce than is called for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I just made this today & it was delicious!! I used sharp cheddar instead of processed cheese, cut the salt in half and didn't use the seasoned salt. It was a big hit with everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
No one in my family could even eat this and we all love grits. The best cheese grits ever--The Flying Biscuit in Atlanta. Look for their recipe if you want good cheese grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
REALLY GOOD RECIPE. WHILE I REALLY DON'T THINK THAT OKLAHOMA'S THE SOUTH IN ANY WAY, SHAPE OR FORM, (I LIVED THERE FOR A FEW YEARS & GRITS ARENT' AVAILABLE THE WAY THEY ARE IN THE SOUTH) THIS IS A REALLY GOOD RECIPE. GOOD CHEESY FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I love baked grits (especially with seafood), but I did make a few changes to this, based on how I remember my Mamaw making them. I used milk instead of water, bringing it right under a boil. Also, I used Cobly and Pepper Jack for the cheeses instead of processed. With thosee changes this is just like Mamaw used to make (possibly better-I don't remember her using worsteshire)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
It is very possible that I did something wrong, however, I followed this recipe to the best of my ability and followed other reviews by adding garlic and cutting salt in half and it turned out really bad. It was super salty and runny. Not even my husband or teenage boys would eat it. I will continue my quest for that perfect grit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Duvall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were awesome! I followed the recipe, and my husband and I loved them. I tasted the grits too before adding the eggs to bake, and they tasted great then too. Next time I'm in a hurry, I may just serve the grits without the eggs to avoid baking-- either way, they taste fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I made this for my Pajama Bunco. The theme was breakfast for dinner and it was absolutely a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Amazing! I served these New Year's Day with a breakfast casserole and monkey bread. It makes a ton, but most had more than one serving. I used the Kraft brand of processed cheese, since it temds to be a bit less salty. Not sure if it was necessary, but these were absolutely DIVINE! I hate leftovers and just had the last bite 4 days later. The might stick to the ribs a bit, but I will add to a traditions list for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States