Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
These grits are awesome. However, they were WAY too salty. I would not use the 2 tsp. of salt as the recipe requires. My whole family liked them, but could not eat much of it because they were too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very good. Not at all spicy as you might think the hot sauce would make it. I think the hot sauce just flavors it up a bit. My only complaint is that it came out a bit soupy in the center. Maybe I should have boiled the grits a bit more. I also used a smaller pan. So, that could have been the reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very Good! I took this to a brunch and got a lot of praises. It is very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Very good recipe. I substituted garlic salt for the seasoning salt because I do not use msg. I also left out the regular salt and added extra tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Great! May add a little garlic salt next time since. Will make this for our next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
We are right here in the middle (3 stars) on this one. I guess if you are an extreme cheese lover this one is for you! I did omit the salt and it was still salty. I didn't use a whole lb. of cheese either and it was way cheesy. I used sharp cheddar and maybe that was the problem all together, I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
These grits are AWESOME! I served these today at a brunch I hosted, and everyone loved them and wanted the recipe. I did take the advice of others about the salt. I added all of the seasoning salt becuase I love it's taste and then slowly added the regular salt tasting as I added. I ended up adding 2/3 teaspoon of salt and it was perfect. I highly recommend these grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I made this for a house full of twenty-something year old guys to go with a pork roast and what they didn't eat at dinner, they finished off the next morning at breakfast. I made the recipe as directed, but feel as some other reviewers, that next time (and there will definitely be many more times) I make it, I will reduce the salt by a half. You can always add more during the meal. This is a great recipe and would easily taste good with ham, pork, or chicken. Can be eaten as a brunch dish, a breakfast dish or a dinner dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This was a pleasant change of pace. I grew up in the South, therefore, have eaten a lot of grits in my earlier days but not this way, usually butter and sugar added. After reading the reviews I didn't add the 2 teaspoons of regular salt and the seasoned salt seemed to be plenty for us. Thanks Mollie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This is awesome - soo cheesy and fluffy, as promised!!! The eggs are really a great trick. Make sure to stir the grits as you are cooking them, otherwise you could end up with big lumps of it. Also, as much as I love butter, I don't think you really need all 3/4 cups of it as not all of it even mixes in. I would cut it down to 1/2 a cup max. I used Franks Red Hot (1 tsp) and it didn't do anything. I would either increase the the amount of hot sauce or use a hotter hot sauce. I needed an extra 20 minutes to cook this, to get the brown crust. I didn't use the extra 2 tsp of salt, as the nutritional value lists 1146 mg sodium PER serving!!!!! I didn't think it needed it. Great side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States