Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
These grits are awesome. However, they were WAY too salty. I would not use the 2 tsp. of salt as the recipe requires. My whole family liked them, but could not eat much of it because they were too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very good. Not at all spicy as you might think the hot sauce would make it. I think the hot sauce just flavors it up a bit. My only complaint is that it came out a bit soupy in the center. Maybe I should have boiled the grits a bit more. I also used a smaller pan. So, that could have been the reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very Good! I took this to a brunch and got a lot of praises. It is very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Very good recipe. I substituted garlic salt for the seasoning salt because I do not use msg. I also left out the regular salt and added extra tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Great! May add a little garlic salt next time since. Will make this for our next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
We are right here in the middle (3 stars) on this one. I guess if you are an extreme cheese lover this one is for you! I did omit the salt and it was still salty. I didn't use a whole lb. of cheese either and it was way cheesy. I used sharp cheddar and maybe that was the problem all together, I am not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
These grits are AWESOME! I served these today at a brunch I hosted, and everyone loved them and wanted the recipe. I did take the advice of others about the salt. I added all of the seasoning salt becuase I love it's taste and then slowly added the regular salt tasting as I added. I ended up adding 2/3 teaspoon of salt and it was perfect. I highly recommend these grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I made this for a house full of twenty-something year old guys to go with a pork roast and what they didn't eat at dinner, they finished off the next morning at breakfast. I made the recipe as directed, but feel as some other reviewers, that next time (and there will definitely be many more times) I make it, I will reduce the salt by a half. You can always add more during the meal. This is a great recipe and would easily taste good with ham, pork, or chicken. Can be eaten as a brunch dish, a breakfast dish or a dinner dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This was a pleasant change of pace. I grew up in the South, therefore, have eaten a lot of grits in my earlier days but not this way, usually butter and sugar added. After reading the reviews I didn't add the 2 teaspoons of regular salt and the seasoned salt seemed to be plenty for us. Thanks Mollie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This is awesome - soo cheesy and fluffy, as promised!!! The eggs are really a great trick. Make sure to stir the grits as you are cooking them, otherwise you could end up with big lumps of it. Also, as much as I love butter, I don't think you really need all 3/4 cups of it as not all of it even mixes in. I would cut it down to 1/2 a cup max. I used Franks Red Hot (1 tsp) and it didn't do anything. I would either increase the the amount of hot sauce or use a hotter hot sauce. I needed an extra 20 minutes to cook this, to get the brown crust. I didn't use the extra 2 tsp of salt, as the nutritional value lists 1146 mg sodium PER serving!!!!! I didn't think it needed it. Great side dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States