Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I've made these several times now with a few changes: I use cheddar/Jack cheeses instead of processed, and I double the hot sauce (Tapatio) and omit the seasoning salt; I also leave out the eggs, as they just don't seem necessary. What I want to point out is that this can really be a one-dish meal. It's not necessary to cook everything atop the stove and then transfer to a baking dish for the oven. I simply throw all the ingredients together in a baking dish, then toss it in the oven. After about half an hour, I stir well, then let it go for another half hour or so. The grits are cooked to perfection, and I just made a very easy, quick meal! My family loves it, so on occasion, I throw it together for dinner. The ease of it all makes me happy, and they're happy 'cause they like it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I found this for a male co-worker. He told me the next Monday that ALL his family LOVED it, two thumbs up. I think he said he added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These are so delicious! My husband and sons made this as part of our Mother's Day brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was good, just not a WOWWIE recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great dish even for those who say they'd never eat grits. That's probably because the dish looks a lot like a cheese souffle. It's a stick-to-your-ribs comfort food. The dish is inexpensive, easy to prepare, and quick to bake. Like other reviewers, I cut back on the butter and salt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I am not a grits eater, but thought I would make this for my fiance' since he likes them. I tried these and I fell in love. He couldn't believe I made them. I definitely recommend this recipe! I can't wait to make them for his mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I used Longhorn cheese rather than processed cheese. I liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I cooked this recipe for a bridesmaids' brunch. We were preparing for over 20 people so I doubled the recipe. Per previous reviews I reduced the amount of butter-in fact I used "I Can't Believe It's Butter" to reduce fat content. I used less process cheese per other reviews and used Light Velveeta. I did not add hot sauce because my friend does not like spicy. I omitted the additional salt per other reviews. I cooked the grits in a pot on the stove and then mixed in all additional ingredients. I tempered the eggs (mixed some of hot grits into beaten eggs) before adding to the entire mix so as not to have scrambled eggs! Per another reviewer I baked in the removable crock pottery for a little less than an hour til top was golden. Then transported in crock pot to destination and kept on warm setting. It was a hit! So if you need to take this dish to another location using a crock pot is the perfect solution. Lots of compliments. Thanks for the recipe and all the wonderful review suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I tried this recipe yesterday for company and everyone loved them. The unusual seasonings add so much to the dish, but they are not over-powering. The texture is creamy and smooth. We are from the South and very picky about our grits, this is a sure winner! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I am a yankee (now living in Alabama) and know NOTHING about grits or how to make them. I found this recipe and made it for my native Alabamian boyfriend and he thought these were the BEST grits he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States