Oklahoma Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I'm a Southern Girl and grew up eating grits. I was really excited to experiment with a new method of preparing them. Well, I was disappointed in the results of this recipe. It's not that they were "bad", they were just too "different", than what I'm used to. They were too fluffy and too light. It's my own personal preference. I prefer grits that "stick to your ribs". I will continue to prepare grits the good old fashioned way: grits, butter, cheese and milk---cooked in a pot on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Lady Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was amazing. I will probably do as the other reviewers stated and add some garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
this is also very good with 1-3 minced cloves of garlic, or you could use a lot of roasted garlic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Mmm... these really satisfied a cheesy craving. Plus, I had everything on hand w/o going to the store- double plus! I scaled this down to just two servings (since I was just making it for me) and it came out perfectly when baked in a small pyrex. I also subbed garlic salt and used reduced fat velveeta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I thought this recipe was good, not as fluffy as another recipe I've had before. I enjoyed it, but it got okay reviews from others. I'd tinker with the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Never having grits before I thought I'd try this at Easter. The outcome was everyone liked them, but I thought they would be better served right from the pot without baking. More like polenta. I threw the leftovers out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This recipe is our family's favorite cheese grits recipe. Fluffy and wonderful! Only use 1/2 tsp of salt though. Last year we (30 of us) did a side by side comparison at Easter with the original recipe and a reduced fat version. I used this recipe and made it with half the amount of butter and light processed cheese and everyone liked the lower fat version better than the original. Just an option. It is also wonderful made with grated sharp cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese. Great recipe Mollie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I had never made grits before, but have always loved them. This recipe was so easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was waaaay better than I expected it to be. I was just looking for something easy with a minimum of ingredients, but it turned out great. I halved the recipe, so I used a 7x11 dish and it only needed about 50 minutes to bake. I only had polenta (corn grits), so I cooked that according to directions, which took about 30 minutes. I used a mix of sharp cheddar and monteray jack. I did only seasoning salt-- no additional salt. We ate half of it one night, and then the next night, I warmed the rest up with a drained can of black beans mixed in. I will definitely make this again. It's a little time intensive, but it's easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I love grits but I wasn't crazy about the velveeta. Very salty even without the added two tsp. of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States