Oklahoma Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. The meat was juicy, and delicious. I would suggest cooking the brisket with fat side up, since the recipe didn't indicate. I also added some bourbon to the glaze which gave it a bold flavor. If you follow this recipe and pay attention to detail you should have no problem creating a delicious meal for your family or friends. I'd recommend this recipe to anyone. Thanks - Kevin from Dallas, Tx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
superb!followed to the mark,except the bar bq sauce didnt make,but the honey/soy sauce glaze scrumptous,and brisket out of the oven so tender and moist pushe a finger down on it and it fell apart.thanx for a good recipe susan,will cook many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was "oh so easy!" I had never cooked a brisket before, but this one turned very good, tender and flavorful. The glaze on the grill was very nice, and the sauce to serve with the meat was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Being a grill person of the highest order, I have to say this simple recipe is extremely good, but I made a simple modification. I cooked in the oven as directed with the season salt and apple vinegar, and used my own bbq sauce as it was a known to me flavor. The meat was super moist, tender and very flavorful. A simple no brainer that will make you look like a top chef. Thanks Oklahoma, crstone, MS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is good. Dang tasty. In fact. it's almost too much flavour. You need some serious beer or Dr. Pepper to wash this down. I have made this now three times and it's always good. You can use apple juice instead of apple cider (the recipe is confusing here). I served it sliced and smothered with sauce on white-trash sesame seed burger buns for that southern BBQ (tailgate party) flavour. For side dishes I served a vinegar-based coleslaw and homefries (done in the oven). Brilliant. Will triple this recipe and have a -kicker BBQ this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonvivant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
The brisket looked and smelled great until I put it on the grill. I was too busy getting the BBQ sauce together to realize it was burning. I would recommend skipping the BBQ sauce (it was terribly vinegary tasting - even without boiling it ) and using your favorite BBQ sauce. And keep a close eye on the grill with a spray bottle of water handy to put out flames. We ended up chopping up the non-charred meat for beef BBQ. Bummer. Also, if you didn't know, a 5 pound brisket is about $25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I cook brisket every way you can...and I think this is a super easy delicious way to git 'r done. :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Yummers! This was my first time making brisket - a total hit with my family! I stuck to the recipe, my seasoning of choice was Montreal Steak Grill Mates by Mccormick. I had a smaller brisket (almost 3 pounds) and didn't cut down my roasting/grill time... it didn't burn, but was a little overcooked. Still, the flavor of the honey "crust" was wonderful and my whole family loved the sauce as well! I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is by far the best brisket recipe I have found. It was cooked perfectly, but has that crispy outer layer. The basting sauce really added an excellent taste to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Seemed like a good recipe until it said to heat the grill. Not good for apartment goers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States