Okanagan Peach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
hmmm. This just didn't work for us at all. There are five in our family and none of us was willing to eat more than a bite of this soup. I followed the recipe exactly (using local peaches that I had frozen at the peak of the season last summer, with no added sugar). We love curries, but the combination of flavor and texture of this soup was not appealing to any of us. I did not find it to be too sweet, as some other reviewers did - probably because I had used the plain peaches, whereas canned peaches have added sugar. Maybe that would have made it tastier? Needless to say, I won't be trying this recipe again to find out. I hate to leave negative reviews, but this was a waste of ingredients and big disappointment for our peach-loving family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I am not a picky eater, but I would not recommend this soup. It was interesting to try, but I would not make it again as written. Instead, half the curry, or omit it all together. I tried some with fresh mint and I much preferred the peach-mint combo to the peach-curry flavor. I served this with a dallop of yogurt and turned it into more of a sweet summer soup. With these changes I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Easy to make and has a great taste! I actually did not peel the peaches or strain the recipe at the end. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
living in the okanagan this is a great way to use peaches and Chardonnay....I have froze peaches to make in the winter. It is a taste of summer on a cold winter day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I LOVED the flavor of this recipe. It's so nice to find complex flavors that fit so well together. However, it's so good it's almost overpowering as a soup so I used it as a sauce over rice and tofu, although I'm sure it would be good with shrimp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This soup was absolutely delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegantart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I loved it, my husband had seconds but no thirds, and my 5 year old daughter wouldn't have more than 2 bites. Used canned peaches and followed the recipe exactly. Didn't strain the soup, I kind of liked the texture. I think a few chunks of peaches mixed in would have made it even better. Delicious flavor and I'm not a big curry fan. Didn't think it was too sweet, just the right amount of heat. Loved it hot not cold. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
O-kanagan/ your soup was really grand/ true culinary love in this home cook's command/ with chardonnay and curry powder/ the flavors nice and clean/ no garlic though/ O-Kanagan, 'cause it treats us mean/ I'll keep this soup in my box of recipes/ O-Kanagan, you sure know how to please/ O-Kanagan, you sure know how to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
totally curry-sweet! What a great way to use up all my fresh peaches from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamflynow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I'm giving this a mediocre review as is. It's far to sweet to be savoury for me. The next day I roasted one large cubed yam and added that in with some cinnamon and cayenne pepper. I alos added more cocnut milk and chicken stock to thin it out a little. With those variations I would give it 5 stars. I served it with sour cream and sliced green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States