Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I used this recipe for both fruit pies & meat pies. No changes in amounts as I use rye flour & grapeseed oil. The result is a short crust pastry with a mild nutty flavour....I have recieved numerous requests for the recipe. It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Not bad for an oil crust. I used water instead of milk and the crust was still decent and edible. I recommend using this type of crust as a LAST resort. (It kinda degraded the value of my lemon meringue tarts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ducky_ducky3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Fantastic! Follow the suggestion of the reviewer who mentioned using less flower. Crust was nice a flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Easy to make and good taste and texture. A butter or lard crust is still a bit better, but this is an excellent healthy alternative. I even substitute 1/3 of the AP flour with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was the best pie crust I've ever had, I used extra light olive oil and rolled it out between waxed paper. My blackberry pie was still crispy and good 3 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Amazing!! When I make pies with it, everyone's favorite part is the crust! The best crust recipe ever!! I used whole wheat flour and it turned out great! I used sour milk with about 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda it place of milk and it still worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I use this recipe all the time, for all different kinds of pies, from chicken pot pie to fruit pies. I use soy milk to keep it non-dairy, and when I'm making a fruit pie, I like to add in 1-2 Tablespoons or so of sugar to sweeten it up. Thanks a ton, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This crust is great! I love to make chicken pot pie with it, because it doesn't get soggy on the bottom. Flavors are perfect, and it is so easy! I don't even roll the dough out, I just flatten between my hands until it is large enough to cover the pie pan. Always cooks perfectly with a flaky texture. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kleytem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Not the best tasting crust I have ever made, but I would most certainly use it again because it's the easiest pie crust I've ever worked with. I followed the recipe exactly. I heard somewhere that if a recipe calls for 1 cup flour sifted, it means measure it first, then sift it. If it calls for 1 sifted cup flour, then sift it first, then measure. Pay attention to this and you should have no problems. I didn't, and it rolled out like a dream (between wax paper though)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Worked out nicely. If using Canadian white flour you need to use about 1/4 cup less. If using Canadian whole wheat need to use 1/4 cup more. There is a difference between flours in each country. This is probably why people are having different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States