Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
The fist half was alright but came out a little too soft. the second hald defrosted didn'y work out AT ALL. It made my quiche a very unhappy dish :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aielena
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was a great crust for my pumpkin pies. It was very easy to make and has a great texture. I used a tip from another about brushing the bottom with egg to keep it from being soggy and it worked so well. Yummy! I made some crusts and put them in the fridge and then did not get back to them. They leaked out the oil that came out of them. But I will just make them as I need them or try freezing them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I used this recipe for both fruit pies & meat pies. No changes in amounts as I use rye flour & grapeseed oil. The result is a short crust pastry with a mild nutty flavour....I have recieved numerous requests for the recipe. It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Not bad for an oil crust. I used water instead of milk and the crust was still decent and edible. I recommend using this type of crust as a LAST resort. (It kinda degraded the value of my lemon meringue tarts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ducky_ducky3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Fantastic! Follow the suggestion of the reviewer who mentioned using less flower. Crust was nice a flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Easy to make and good taste and texture. A butter or lard crust is still a bit better, but this is an excellent healthy alternative. I even substitute 1/3 of the AP flour with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was the best pie crust I've ever had, I used extra light olive oil and rolled it out between waxed paper. My blackberry pie was still crispy and good 3 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Amazing!! When I make pies with it, everyone's favorite part is the crust! The best crust recipe ever!! I used whole wheat flour and it turned out great! I used sour milk with about 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda it place of milk and it still worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryn Haubner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I use this recipe all the time, for all different kinds of pies, from chicken pot pie to fruit pies. I use soy milk to keep it non-dairy, and when I'm making a fruit pie, I like to add in 1-2 Tablespoons or so of sugar to sweeten it up. Thanks a ton, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This crust is great! I love to make chicken pot pie with it, because it doesn't get soggy on the bottom. Flavors are perfect, and it is so easy! I don't even roll the dough out, I just flatten between my hands until it is large enough to cover the pie pan. Always cooks perfectly with a flaky texture. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kleytem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States