Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Let me start off, I am not a baker. I love to eat the sweets but they never come out right - I was convinced I was missing the baking gene. Nevertheless, I was dying to make the "No Sugar Apple Pie" from allrecipes and I really wanted to keep it healthy by pairing it with a pie crust w/o hydrogenated oils (margarine). So I dared to make my own with this recipe and WOW! So easy to roll out, made a great lattice top too and SO YUMMY. I used olive oil and followed the recipe to a T. It was great the first day and I think even better the next couple days after. This is now my no-fail go-to pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN5502

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good recipe and easy to make. I was a little worried after reading the reviews about how to handle an oil based crust, but my fears were alleviated after the experience. I had to increase the recipe to make pie slices, so the dough became sticky, but I just kept gradually adding flour until it was about perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This worked out really well for my Thanksgiving pies. It was slightly dry but we rolled between waxed paper and it was easier to work with. Nice flaky crust and my favorite part, its cheaper to make then standard pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a no-fail pie crust. Have been using it for years. However, my receipe calls for 2 c. flour, salt, 1/2 c. oil and 1/4 c. milk. Mix and roll out between 2 pieces of waxed paper. Dampen the counter first and the waxed paper will stick to it, put pie crust dough down and cover with another piece of waxed paper. Roll out and remove top paper and then just flip dough into pie dish. It's easy to correct any mistakes and comes out nice and flaky. This recipe says it's for 2 crusts, but I think that was for a smaller pie. I make 10" pies so use the whole receipe for one pie. Wonderful, especially for pumpkin pies which usually have a soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niareno
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I used this recipe to make my chicken pot pie and it was great!!! The crust was light flaky and good!! I found that the dough was easy to work with. I used plastic wrap to roll it out after I refrigerated for 15 minutes. I didn't change anything about this recipe,you don't need to !!I will use this recipe again in the near future!! Thank You Donna for such an easy and tasty recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niareno
Living In: Grindstone, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Thank you KGB123. I followed your review to the letter for a successful pie crust. Pie crusts have previously frustrated me, so I've bought them from the store for years. This one is relatively healthy, easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
thought it was very nice and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This makes a great, flaky crust! Like another reviewer mentioned, I roll my dough between sheets of plastic wrap so I don't ruin the dough by handling it too much or adding excessive flour...I really recommend that method (plus it keeps your table top neat as a pin!). Also, you can add a dash of vanilla or almond extract for a slightly more flavorful crust should you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth from Atlanta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I was so careful and followed the most popular suggestions but this just didn't work out for me. Very dry and frustrating to work with, think I will go back to my regular "no-fail" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
The fist half was alright but came out a little too soft. the second hald defrosted didn'y work out AT ALL. It made my quiche a very unhappy dish :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aielena

Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States