Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This crust is a much appreciated alternative to traditional shortening-based recipes! And it's VERY easy if you follow these simple tips: 1) make sure you sift the flour before measuring to ensure that you don't use too much due to dense packing in the measuring cup. If you don't have a flour sifter, stir up the top layers in your flour jar or bag using a fork or wisk, then gently dip in the measuring cup and level off. 2) Chill all ingredients and mixing bowls in the fridge or freezer for at least 15 minutes before you begin. I mixed the flour and salt in a bowl and put that in the freezer, and mixed the oil and milk together and put that in the freezer. 3) Mix ingredients just enough to moisten and finish with hand mixing. A marbeled look is exactly what you're looking for to get a flakey crust. 4) Roll out each ball of dough between two sheets of wax paper to avoid extra flour and potential sticking. And make sure to chill your dough before rolling it out- I put mine in the freezer for about a half hour. 5) If you like a sweeter pie crust, I suggest using an egg white wash and a sprinkling of sugar on top. I don't think it's necessary to add sugar to the main recipe. 6) To make sure the bottom crust doesn't get soggy during baking, try dusting the inside of the bottom crust with flour and sugar before pouring in the filling- about a tablespoon each of sugar and flour. I read this tip in a review for one of the pie recipes on this site, and it works like a charm! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade Kurei
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I used this pie crust with the "Three Berry Pie" recipe (also on Allrecipes.com). It was delicious, and this crust wasn't at all disappointing! When I first tried, I didn't think I did a good job "sifting" the flour, so I just used about 2 1/2 c. It worked well! I also took the advice of another reviewer by storing the oil in the freezer for about an hour. The whole crust-making process went swiftly and I was pleasantly surprised with the end result, so thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade Kurei

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Hooray! This was so very easy to prepare and tastes fabulous. No more cutting in butter and all of THAT mess. Definitely try it, folks - you'll be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I was in a hurry after a busy day and decided to throw together a quiche. This was the perfect recipe! The dough had a nice feel and rolled out perfectlt. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Thanks for the recipe. It turned out just fine for me to use for a pumpkin pie. Making an oil pie crust is not an easy task. Getting just the right amount of flour and liquid is tricky. Having a pie crust that is not made from shortening is worth its imperfections .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Crust was crumblier than I like but not bad. I was glad to see a crust made with oil instead of shortening so will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I couldn't even roll it out. Most likely, after reading the other 1 star review, there is way too much flour. However, I read that review too late to save ingredients. I'll have to try another recipe now or lose my apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by startedat41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I'm not the best pie crust maker, however I used this one for a quiche, and it turned out great. I'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdeluco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
great pie, made with quiche, it was perfect, i actually had to look up this recipe twice because i wanted to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I'm pretty sure I did not make this pie crust right because the dough turned out very dry and the dough didn't roll out right. Probably because I didn't sift the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake

Displaying results 51-60 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States