Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made a very nice apple pie (made it with extra virgin olive oil) only had skimmed milk so I used buttermilk instead (1% fat is better than no fat at all) and added some sugar as it was for a sweet pie. Great success and a lot easier to handle than regular butter crust. I was searching for a healthy crust and this is a total winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
What an amazing recipe... did scale down on the flour a bit (2 1/4 c) but this is now my go to pie crust for anything! I love the fact there is no lard in it... thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wedwithbabies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I understand how this recipe could go completely awry but it worked for me without a problem. I had to chill it for longer than 15 minutes...more like an hour but after doing so and keeping the flour amount the same I had no problems out of this. It was incredibly flaky after baking and alot lighter than a butter crust. I made half a dozen mini apple pies with it to try it out and my husband LOVED it! I'm not big on crust because many of them are too "doughy" (not a word, I know) but this was perfect for me. I added a tablespoon of sugar to sweeten it a bit and it was just right. I can't wait to make a full pie with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I have made Crisco or butter pie crusts for years, and I was so impressed with how easy this crust is! After reading several reviews, I decided to go with 1/2 c. each of olive oil and milk, 2 cups of flour, and salt. It was incredibly easy to roll! I made an inadvertent adjustment to the menu. Since I was multitasking and making the filling for left-over turkey pot pie, I mistakenly put the celery seeds in the crust instead of in the filling. Since it was for a savory pie, I figured it wouldn't matter too much. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have used an oil recipe for years. I roll it out between waxed paper, laying two pieces on the counter overlapping some. lay ball of dough in center, and cover with two more pieces of overlapping waxed paper. I place the paper close enough to the edge of the counter that I can fold it over and hold it with my stomach as I roll it out to keep it in place. Pull the top papers off, reach under the bottom papers and turn them upside down over your pie pan. So easy, so good, and so much better for the heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Way too much flour and bland taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepicklechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
The oil-based crust recipe is soooo much easier to make than the butter and lard-based. I'm thrilled to have found it. This is one you can practically throw together. I prefer 2 thicker crusts so I used 3 c. flour, 1/2 c. milk, 3/4 c. oil and 1.5 tsp salt. It was so easy and tastes so good I doubt I will go back to the more labor-intensive method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Absolutely Fabulous!!! I used this for personal sized black cherry pies and they were perfect. Thanks for the super easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made this crust for a sweet potato pie that I was craving. I didn't want to drive to the store for shortening and I had oil on hand. Maybe I did something wrong even though I followed the recipe's directions. I didn't like this one. I'm going to have to stick with using shortening. Thanks for the recipe, though. :>|
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
For such a simple and easy recipe it is surprisingly close to the real thing. The dough is not quite as durable and forgiving as shortening crust but it patches back together easily and cooks up nicely. Once cooked, I found it just slightly tougher and less flavorful than a shortening crust but it has all the qualities of the real thing and for a chicken pot pie I actually preferred the added firmness this crust provided. I only used about 2-1/4 cups of flour as recommended by several other reviewers and chilled the dough for a couple hours rather than just 15 minutes to help it firm up a little better, which I am glad I did because it softens very quickly. I would make this again and recommend it to anyone in a pinch or watching their diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States