Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe works very well for quiches. Something about the texture makes the whole thing taste better. As an extra bit of flavor, I add tsp of ground garlic to the dry ingredients before mixing. BTW - I did not need to roll it out, just set it in the pie plate and pushed it into place. I then added my egg mixture and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This isn't flaky like butter/margarine based pie crusts, but it worked nicely for a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So happy to have a recipe that doesn't call for shortening or lard! I've used several times and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Amazing. 5 stars for a healthier crust. I am trying to bake healthier and this pie crust was a hit. I used olive oil. It turned out flakey but the taste was a little bland. The second time I made it I took 1/8 cup of milk, 1/8 cup of water and beat an egg into the mixture, topping it up with water to get the 1/2 cup of liquid. I also borrowed the idea of adding 2 tsp baking powder from another recipe. I left the dough slightly marbled and rolled it between 2 layers of wax paper which worked well and made it easy to flip when rolling and transfering into the pie plate. The second time the crust was slightly flakier and the taste was not as bland. The crust turns out browner then normal but does not taste burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powassan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This is World War II recipe, from a ladies magazine during the days of butter rationing. All my aunts made it, and one of them remembered at my mom's funeral that they learned it from a magazine advertisement promoting the new Mazola corn oil brand. Mom always insisted on Mazola oil, and I agree that it is more tasty than non-corn oil. I printed it on the little memorial cards that the funeral home passes out. I thought that way people would keep it in their recipe books and remember her great pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I don't know if I did something wrong, or what, but I ended up with a gooey soft crawling dough. The end product is kinda nice, but this is not what I'd call pie crust. It's more like a potsticker dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Wished I listened to some of these reviews. Too much flour made it impossible to work with. I'll give it one more try with the recommended 2 - 2 1/4 and see where it goes..... This is the first recipe that has gone belly up on me from this site....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a very flaky crust and easy old school made simple it will impress the mother in law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
this was excellent!!! thank you so much, probably one of the flakiest pie crusts I've ever eaten and so easy to make, no rolling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Pretty good. I went with the "2 cups of flour" instead though, as some reviews mentioned worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States