Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Great! I cut the recipe in half to make a single crust for a quiche. I usually butcher butter and shortening based crusts by overworking them and making them tough, but this crust was flaky and tender even though I worked with it quite a bit. Of course, nothing beats a "real" crust, but in a pinch, when you're short on ingredients or concerned about how unhealthy regular pastry is, this works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
simple and pretty basic tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
this looked different than usual pie crust when I patted it out, but boy it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I gave this recipe four stars because there was only one downfall...it was a little tiny bit bland. Otherwise a GREAT recipe! So easy, I had prepared the crust and cleaned up in 10 min.! I didn't over work the dough and it came out so nice and crusty. I did not blind bake the crust because I wanted to follow the directions at first, I'm glad I didn't b/c I was trying out a new pumpkin pie recipe that needed to bake 45-50 min. Sadly this crust turned out WAY better than the pumpkin filling, lol. I will use this again cause I loved the crustiness, and under 10 min is too good to pass ip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was an extremely easy pie crust to work with. I am trying to get away from lard, butter, etc., so this seemed to be n excellent substitute. I miss the flavor of the other types of crust, but the filling of the pie is the best part, right?! Will use this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheriewatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I think the recipe could have had better directions. It doesn't tell you how to bake the crust if you want just a baked shell. I also think it was a little tough (and I did not over mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This turned out terrible for me. I used peanut oil (I don't see where anyone recommends a particular kind of oil) and I substituted 3/4 cup of flour with whole wheat. I tried not to handle it very much. I chilled the oil as one reviewer recommended. I couldn't get it to hold together, had to make a patch work crust to fit the pie dish, and when it was baked it was as hard as a rock! The apple filling recipe I used was great tho, so we just ate the filling. Anyone have any other suggestions as to where I went wrong. I would really like to have a good oil pie crust recipe since it is so much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I love this crust recipe, and love that I don't have to buy shortening to make it. I will increase the recipe next time, because I didn't quite have enough dough to make my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
i would definitely recommend blind baking or pre-baking this crust before adding any pie filling. i used this recipe for an apple pie, and the bottom of the crust tasted oily and remained semi-uncooked, even though the filling was not that wet. the top of the crust, however, turned out fine--flaky and crisp without the oily taste. i'll probably try this again with the blind baking first. hard to give up on such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is the perfect, quick pie crust. It is inexpensive and easy to make. Also, it is good for sweet or savory dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States