Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was a good recipe, however we encountered a minor glitch, sifted the flour, added the exact amounts, and apparently from getting the freshest All-purpose flour possible, it made it too dry. The crust wasn't flakey as it should be it was a little tough, we made a pumpkin pie with this recipe for Christmas dinner. And it was a wonderful addition, the crust wasn't perfect. I have been experimenting with pastry recipes for one day, I intend to be a pastry chef, and must practice with new things all the time~ If you're trying to learn to bake, this may be a little too intermediate for you as far as cooking goes, but before that it works lovely, mixes up well, et cetera. If it sticks to your hands too much, then yours is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I'm not thrilled with this recipe. I may try it again and see if I get better results. I measured everything exactly, and I couldn't get it to hold together. Tastes good, but doesn't look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used this for a pumpkin pie over Thanksgiving. I did sift the flour, but it still seemed to be a little to much, so I add about a tablespoon extra milk. I had a hard time getting it to stick together very well, so I smashed it into a ball and refrigerated it for a bit, and that really helped. It rolled out just fine between two sheet of wax paper. I used whole wheat flour, olive oil and low fat milk for the health benefits. I am the health nut in the family, but every one who ate the pie enjoyed it as well. The only complaint was that it is a little hard to cut, cause it is a bit tough. I am into healthy eating, so I really enjoyed this crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I have always used an "oil" based pie crust. I was looking to find another and just happened to find this recipe. Decided to read the reviews first though. Big mistake on my part. Those who have NOT followed the recipe to the letter....your crust is not going to turn out. If you want to use specific ingredients, may I suggest you find a recipe to fit your needs. Don't "mess" with a recipe and then grinch because it didn't turn out. Some comments have stated that the crust tasted bland. The oil based crust recipe that I use calls for sugar and salt. If you are making a "savory" crust, omit the sugar. I use this recipe for a one crust pie only. It is wonderful and very flaky. Just my 2 cents
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This crust was horribly to work with. It didn't roll out like the recipe said. The taste was OK, but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Photo by gabrielglimpse
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Loved this recipe. It was quicker and easier to work with than traditional pie crust. I handled the crust very little and rolled it out onto a lightly floured pastry cloth. I used the one recipe to make two single crust pies. One pecan and one pumpkin. I saved a small bit of pastry, rolled it out and cut it into leaves. With the back of the knife, I made leaf veins for sweet little detail. Placing the pastry leaves on the top of the pie for the last 20 minutes of baking, browned them nicely. NOTE: I used glass pie pans, baked my pies at 425 degrees Farenheit for the the first 10 minutes of baking and turned the heat down to 350 for the remainder of the time. I placed foil over the fluted crust so it wouldn't get too brown. The pies were a real treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the easiest pie crust ever!! I love that you don't need flour to roll it out. The less mess the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Okay, this recipe is so good since there's no need to pitch the shortening/fat/margarine or etc. since you just take the flour, pour in the milk/oil mixture (which, fyi, I froze for a while just in case). Next time I would keep track of how many tbsp flour = 2 3/4 cup of sifted flour cause sifting the flour was the only problem with the recipe. Defintely a keeper ETA - OMG, this baked up to be so crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This made a lovely simple crust. I was out of butter and looking for a crust recipe for a vegetable pot pie I was making, and this was marvelous. I loved the texture and it was so quick to make, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirakira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I currently live in a country that doesn't make pies, therefore doesn't have Crisco, so I needed an oil pie crust. This was excellent. I will make this from now on, even when I go back home to America because it is less time consuming than a lard crust (no cutting the lard into the flour). Make sure to sift the flour and handle the dough as little as possible. I did find that I had JUST enough dough with no extra left over. Be careful not to roll the dough out too thick or you won't have enough to work with. Excellent! This recipe was a life saver for not having Crisco accessible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Wels, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States