Oil Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Oh my gosh, this is incredible! As known: only use oil pie crusts the day of, because oil has the tendency to separate, and then it's not half as tasty as the day before! HOWEVER, if eaten that day, what a pie crust! I follow it verbatim if making a "saltier" pie, like a chicken pot or what have you. And if using it for a sweeter dish like a dessert, I throw in two tablespoons of sugar, just to bring it all together. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I liked the idea of using oil instead of butter. However it was very difficul for me to roll out. I used white whole wheat flour. I'll try it again with all purpose flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My Mother passed down an oil recipe, with the same ingredients, but different ratios. Try sifting 2 cups of flour and 1 tsp. salt. In one measuring cup, measure 1/2 cup oil then add 1/4 cup milk to it. Fold that into the flour mixture. Use immediately. THIS is a no-fail 5 star pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Super easy........wow!!!!!!! Im guessing people who try and fail just dont know how to read. Thanks, very enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was better than another oil pie crust that I tried. I liked the taste and it mixed together very easily. It was a little difficult to roll out. Next time I might try rolling it between sheets of plastic wrap. But, in the end it worked and it wasn't too tough or too crumbly so I'll keep using this. I kind of like using the oil since it's healthier and less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shurkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
It is great to find a delicious pie recipe that does not call for shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
After chilling , the dough was hard, and tough to work with. Maybe a little more water would've helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tod Wonch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Potterville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This turned out great! I used half white flour/half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Worked perfectly, rolled easy, and tasted great. Thanks for the tip on rolling the dough between 2 pieces of plastic wrap. I did sprinkle the crust with cinnamon and sugar before filling it with apple pie filling for a little extra flavor. This is definitely my new favorite pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr.CMosher
Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Really easy to make. Used half whole wheat flour to make it a little healthier. Rolled the crusts out between parchment paper - it seemed a little oily but was fine when cooked, Used it for a pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States