Oil Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I've been meaning to try this recipe for quite some time because it intrigued me. Finally, when I decided to make it I didn't have evaporated milk. So I very gently boiled down some 2% milk until it was reduced to half. I made only half the recipe. I put the dough in the freezer for about a half hour. Next time, I will refrigerate it overnight. I put a piece of saran wrap down to roll the dough on. I dipped my fingers in flour each time I took a tablespoon of dough. Since I had some cinnamon sugar left from another cookie I made, I used that rather than glaze. I ended up making knots and they looked really cute. I got about 3 dozen cookies. I baked them longer than the recipe stated because I wanted them to have more color. I'll definitely make these again. Thank you for taking the time to get measurements from your grandmother. This recipe could have been lost forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Excellent cookie! Light on sugar and great with morning coffee. I added orange and vanilla flavors for a bit more flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
It is what it says, which I like. Shapes hold well, and it was a blast to make these with kids. I had enough dough to freeze and save for another day of play. I like the simplicity of this recipe, and the comment that they are like scones is right on! They are a softer texture, but for little teeth, this is good. I just dusted them with icing sugar, and while the kids made wild shapes, I stuck with spirals and pretzels that looked charming when done. The taste might be bland, but a solid base for whatever your imagination can create - admittedly, I near tripled the vanilla since I love that flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evora
Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were NOT a hit. I tried them plain and as thumbprint cookies. My kids (and honey) licked the jam out of the thumbprints and didn't eat the cookie.To quote my DH "Oil Cookies? What did you use,40 weight?" We'll stick to butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by RentheFabulousBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
SO good! They turn out with a taste and consistency close to that of scones. They are so fun to make shapes out of! Great group activity for baking with friends or kids because you can make whatever shapes you want out of the dough (and there is a LOT of dough, so the help would be nice!). I only gave it 4 of 5 stars because I made a few adjustments, and I think as-is it would only be a 4. What I did that made them GREAT was: 1) I added about 1/2 a tablespoon of almond extract along with the vanilla. 2) I ended up having to add in about 1.5 extra cups of flour... it was still a little sticky, but with floured hands, it was workable/rollable for shapes. 3) GLAZE! You definately need to take the advice in the recipe and glaze. The cookies are a bit bland by themselves, but made complete with a little sugary goodness on top :) I used a vanilla glaze, and it was the perfect pair, but I bet they would be great with any other glaze, or even jam! Thanks so much for this recipe, I'll definately make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These cookies are really cute! I had run out of butter but wanted to bake something sweet -- and these fit the bill perfectly! I had to add a bit more flour to get the dough workable, but other than that the cookies came out great. Beware... they are addictive since they're so light! :) Note: I live at an elevation of 7000 feet and did not need to make any changes to the recipe. Thank you for posting this unique cookie recipe; I enjoyed the story about your grandmother as well! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyluna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I was a little disappointed in the way my attempt turned out. Maybe I flubbed up somewhere with ingredients or preparation. Anyway, my batch was sticky and hard to roll and, when finished, tasted bland and dry. I was glad that they used oil vs. margarine, shortening or butter but I doubt if I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
We love these. They make great wedding favors. We make them into knots, glaze them and sprinkle them with crystal sanding sugar. Then we package them 2 in a box, tie it with a white ribbon and label it with a tag that says, "We tied the knot!" Great recipe, Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
A basic bland cookie good for putting sprinkles or icing on. I chose this recipe because it uses oil instead of butter or trans-fat laden baking margarine. I found it took an extra cup of flour to even get it remotely stiff enough to shape and that it didn't really rise very much(maybe because of the extra flour). With no butter to cream it was a very quick dough to make and my 4 yr old was able to roll them in to "snakes" and after they were cooked I brushed on the glaze and she dipped them in sprinkles. We glaced and covered them with sprinkles and the kids loved them so I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States