Oia Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was a big hit at a potluck I recently brought it too. I Used the Absolutely Fabulous Greek Dressing recipe from this site as others suggested and it turned out wonderfully. I combined the tomatoes, cucs, capers and olives and kept the dressing, onions & cheese separate until right before serving. My only suggestion would be to cut back the capers to 2 oz and rinse them well. 4 oz was just too many capers. I'd use about an ounce less feta next time too. Over all great recipe! Thank's for posting Lisawas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for my Son, Daughter-in-law and two of my teenaged grandchildren last night. My grandaughter is vegan and loved it and my grandson ate his (telling me all the way through how great it was) and ate the last half of mine because I am not a big eater. What is amazing is that my b-i-law who was a cook and only eats meat and potatoes and doesn't like salads ate the whole thing! The only thing I did different was hollow out big tomatoes and stuff them with the salad and put it in the fridge until dinner. Served on a salad plate with romaine lettuce beneath. They loved the presentation. I used Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House dressing from this site. TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This makes a fairly authentic Greek Salad. When I have capers I definitely add them with a little of the brine as well. I learned that from my Greek husband, Kostas. In Greece, instead of dressing they often use just olive oil and oregano but we always added a little red wine vinegar too. You could also add a bit of green pepper if you like. Also important would be the quality of the feta and the oil. I would get a feta made with goat and/or sheep's milk as the typical grocery store feta is not nearly as good and doesn't have the nice texture of the goat or sheep feta. Also, use a first cold pressed extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Wonderful as is! I have made this several times since and I omit the capers and use the "Absolutely Fabulous Greek Dressing" on this site. Very fresh and light! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
What a great change from a normal green salad. Very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I've never liked cucumbers... till now! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I did marinate 1/2 of the feta cheese in some dressing for about 15 min. before serving and added some romaine lettuce, this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I used EVOO instead of the dressing with some Greek Seasoning (from this website) and it was absolutely delicious. Will try again after I get some of the Greek salad dressing to see if perfection can be improved on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was awesome. I made it with balsalmic vinaigrette dressing and added oregano. I'm not a tomato person but i like them in this salad ^_^ I, too, like that it doesn't have lettuce, my mom's allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States