Oia Greek Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Pretty close to what I grew up on in my greek family. I nix the capers, and dress it with olive oil and vinegar, maybe a bit of lemon if I have it on hand. Make sure you use Kalamata olives. Also great with avocado if you have any on hand. Not authentic, but it goes really well with the mix. thanks for posting! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for my Son, Daughter-in-law and two of my teenaged grandchildren last night. My grandaughter is vegan and loved it and my grandson ate his (telling me all the way through how great it was) and ate the last half of mine because I am not a big eater. What is amazing is that my b-i-law who was a cook and only eats meat and potatoes and doesn't like salads ate the whole thing! The only thing I did different was hollow out big tomatoes and stuff them with the salad and put it in the fridge until dinner. Served on a salad plate with romaine lettuce beneath. They loved the presentation. I used Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House dressing from this site. TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I just use olive oil and sometimes balsamic vinegar to dress this salad. Capers are a nice touch, as are red peppers. Also AMAZING with fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Per a month in Greece (Athens, Rhodes and Santorini) I'd agree with AmyLynn and nix the capers. However, I've got to say this is pretty close to what is considered a Greek salad. For dressing I juice a couple lemons and shake it with 2 tbsp EVOO, turns out great - nice and light - plus it saves you finding Greek salad dressing in the South ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurricaneSoccer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This makes a fairly authentic Greek Salad. When I have capers I definitely add them with a little of the brine as well. I learned that from my Greek husband, Kostas. In Greece, instead of dressing they often use just olive oil and oregano but we always added a little red wine vinegar too. You could also add a bit of green pepper if you like. Also important would be the quality of the feta and the oil. I would get a feta made with goat and/or sheep's milk as the typical grocery store feta is not nearly as good and doesn't have the nice texture of the goat or sheep feta. Also, use a first cold pressed extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was awesome. I made it with balsalmic vinaigrette dressing and added oregano. I'm not a tomato person but i like them in this salad ^_^ I, too, like that it doesn't have lettuce, my mom's allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
What a great change from a normal green salad. Very good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I don't remember capers. But everything is right on. I like to rub dried oregano on it and make my own dressing (my husband prefers non-bottled dressing) but thank you so much for offering a "no lettuce" authentic greek salad. I couldn't improve on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I used EVOO instead of the dressing with some Greek Seasoning (from this website) and it was absolutely delicious. Will try again after I get some of the Greek salad dressing to see if perfection can be improved on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I've never liked cucumbers... till now! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States